Tuesdays With Dorie – Thumbprints For Us Big Guys

Hello. My name is Mike and I am a Big Guy.

For those of you who do not regularly read my site, I pretty much destroy everything I touch – baked goods included.

For this recipe, I destroyed my garlic press, which I used to crack the shells on my hazelnuts. GOTTA USE SOMETHING.

Otherwise, all went according to plan. They’re looking a little sloppy but dare I say…edible? Way to go, Me! And way to go, Tuesdays With Dorie, for baking along with me this week.

I’d imagine that I’ll be getting a little extra traffic due to this being “my” week picking the recipe. Here’s a little about me. I’m a big dumb doofus of a guy who somehow managed to end up with a beautiful fiance and an okay dog.

I used to be real fat. Then I went crazy and got too skinny. Now I’m a nice medium size and fairly healthy.

I’ve been baking since July 2008. It’s clear that I’m pretty bad at baking, but here’s something I am good at – self promotion!

This is my Facebook. You can befriend me.

This is my joke Twitter, which I write under the pen name “Leroy Pitts.” Basically it’s a bunch of dumb jokes whenever they pop into my head. Here is a compilation of the “best of” my first year or two of those jokes.

This is my baseball blog, Wade Bloggs. It is notable because I neither know nor care anything about baseball. I pretty much write silly things and punctuate them with references from Wikipedia. And it is a world renowned baseball blog! Easy enough.

So that’s me. What about you? ROLE CALL.

THUMBPRINTS FOR US BIG GUYS by Dorie Greenspan from “Baking: From My Home To Yours”

1 3/4 cups finely ground hazelnuts
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flower
2 sticks (8 oz) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon pure almond extract
Confectioner’s sugar, for dusting
About 1 cup raspberry jam (or the jam or marmalade of your choice)

GETTING READY: Position the racks to divide the oven into thirds and preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line two baking sheets with parchment or silicone mats.

Whisk together ground nuts and flour.

Working with a stand mixer, preferably fitted with the paddle attachment, or with a hand mixer in a large bowl, beat the butter and sugar together on medium speed until light and fluffy, 3 to 4 minutes. Add the extracts and beat to blend. Reduce the mixer speed to low and gradually add the nut-flower mixture, mixing only until it is incorporated into the dough.

Working with a teaspoonful of dough at a time, roll the dough between your palms to form small balls and place the balls 2 inches apart on the baking sheets. Steadying each cookie with the thumb and forefinger of one hand, use the pinkie of your other hand (or the end of a wooden spoon) to poke a hole in the center of each cookie. Be careful not to go all the way down to the baking sheet.

Bake for 15 to 18 minutes, rotating the sheets from top to bottom and front to back at the midway point. The cookies should be only slightly colored–they may even look underdone, which is fine: they should not be overbaked. When the cookies are baked, remove the baking sheets from the oven and let the cookies rest on the sheets for 2 minutes before transferring them to cooling racks with a wide metal spatula and sifting confectioner’s sugar over them.

Repeat with the remaining dough, remembering to cool the baking sheets before baking the next batch.

Bring jam to a boil in a small saucepan over low heat, or bring to a boil in a microwave oven; remove from the heat. Fill the indentations of all the cookies with enough of the hot jam to come level with the tops. Cool to room temperature.

84 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Thumbprints For Us Big Guys”

  1. Hi Mike! Happy TWD week! I can’t beleive you use a garlic press to crack open the nuts, lol! But that’s pretty awesoime to go through the trouble to shell the nuts for a recipe. They look great! A lot of mine crumbled when pressing.

    My post will be up in the morning, we thought these were great cookies! Thanks for picking them. =)

  2. Great choice Mike – those hazelnuts finally saw the light of day from my freezer. Is that press repairable? Next time use a hammer 🙂 The plate of thumbprints looks great – I’m sure whoever got one loved them. Maybe you’ll get a new press for your birthday…

  3. Funny! You can have my garlic press–I never use it. Thanks for picking this recipe. I made them with almonds (bought shelled) and lemon curd. They look a bit anemic, but they tasted good.

  4. The cookies look so good that you might have to change the name of your blog — congratulations!

  5. Hi Mike! Great pick! I agree with Dorie… yours look so good I think you have compromised your blog name 🙂

    Nice getting to know you!
    Kindly, ldh

  6. Interesting bio, Mike. Nice to get to know you. I’ve always wondered if you were describing yourself as ugly or your food. Your cookies today are definitely not ugly.

  7. Your cookies look awesome dude. Better than mine for sure. You did a fantastic job. Im already stalking you in most your self promotion places though. 😛

  8. Wow, Dorie left you a comment? That’s really cool! Great pick for this week. I was way too lazy to shell hazelnuts, so I bought a bag of slivered almonds. I’m gonna go check out your other sites!

  9. Your post made me laugh! Great pick for this week 🙂 Seriously, I probably wouldn’t have made these if you hadn’t chosen them, so thanks! I loved them. LOL over the garlic press! I’m afraid I’m far too lazy to grind nuts so I used ground almonds 🙂

  10. Thanks for this pick Mike. Your cookies look awesome. It’s nice to have some guys baking along with us women folk…lol. Again, thanks.

  11. Thank you Mike. I would have never chosen this recipe on my own and that would have been a shame because these cookies were amazing!

  12. What fun to read your blog. Thanks for this choice. Hubby gobbled them down.

  13. Hey, Mike! This is my first time here and I love your site. You are too funny. Thanks for hosting TWD this week, and thanks for choosing a great recipe that didn’t take all day to make! Well done!

  14. Dude! They were a fabulous pick.

    Thanks.

  15. You rocked this Mike! Great post too.
    Hi my name is Beryl. I’m a recovering film professional with delusions of baking grandeur. Husband, 2 cats, decent speller.

  16. Thank you Mike for choosing this recipe for us this week… it was quick and easy, somekinda break for once, just the way you like ’em, I guess.

    I had a lot of fun baking those, and even more eating ’em.

    As for befriending ya on Facebook, I’ll pass… not a great fan (of Facebook! LOL) …but I have to admit I loved the smooched pics of you entire family, as well as your jokes (fun to have a go at in the morning, starts a day on the right foot! LOL).

    Great cookies…

  17. I love the post! I didn’t get to make these cookies yet but since my husband loves cookies AND jam I’m sure I will soon.

  18. I had the best time reading your back posts as I was getting the link to your blog for the thumbprint posts. You remind me of some of my favorite people, and I’m glad you got to host because now I know I need to read your blog!
    Thanks for choosing the thumbprints. I was super excited to make these cookies and they didn’t disappoint. I’m sure you’ll read this many times, but your thumbprints aren’t ugly! RIP to your garlic press, but it looks and sounds like it was worth the sacrifice.

  19. Great recipe choice! These were fun to make and delicious.

  20. Fun post Mike – good to know more about you 🙂 Thanks for hosting this week – these were fun to make, even though I’m not a big fan of nuts. I think your cookies look pretty terrific!

  21. Great pick! These were very yummy and fun to make.

  22. Nice cookies! Thanks for the pick, I’ve been eyeing it for a while.

  23. […] For actual thumbprint cookies, visit the Tuesdays with Dorie page, and for the recipe for the thumbprint cookies, visit this week’s host, Mike of Ugly Food Dude! […]

  24. Thanks for your pick this week! Mine didn’t quite work out the way they were supposed to, but ended up being a delicious treat anyway! 🙂

  25. Mike… I did not make these, but seeing your post and the comments, I think I need to rethink and whip them up tonight and get cracking in posting them.

    And, since you made me laugh at loud (AT WORK), you have been added to my reader for my daily comic relief.

  26. What’s up The Dude! (Quick Big Lebowski reference for ya.) Thanks for hosting this week! I honestly wasn’t sure I’d like these cookies and basically wanted to bake them to support my favorite guy baker but I’m happily surprised that these might be on the top 10 list! FYI I’m going to steal your smooshed page for my blog now. That is all.

  27. Thanks Mike for the great pick and if it makes you feel any better, my cookies came out looking strangely like eggs…

    At any rate- these were delicious!

  28. Mike, sorry I didn’t make the cookies with you this week- I’m not a fan of jam. Horrifying, I know. Your cookies look like they turned out well!

  29. I’m so glad it was your week if nothing but to discover your blog. You crack me up! And I loved these cookies. Filled mine with Nutella. I’m not the only one. Glad to add a weekly laugh to my reader here!

  30. Great photo! It looks like your thumbprints are overflowing with jam lava. The smushed photos of you, your fiancee, and your dog are hilarious.

  31. Awesome choice this week!

    And I’ve totally read Wade Bloggs before! I don’t know why (well ok I do, its cuz Im a blog junky) but I have…

  32. Wonderful choice! Love your photo. I’m always happy when there’s jam to lick off the top of the cookie.

  33. Now I know what dwarf dudes eat for fun. Nice choice. We had fun experimenting with fillings.

  34. Great pick! I think your cookies look perfect…love having extra jam to enjoy. I filled mine with salted caramel ganache, and they were a huge hit. I never would have made these if you hadn’t picked them, so THANKS!

  35. […] the recipe, head on over to Mike of Ugly Food Dude and be sure to check out the rest of the blogroll, as I have a feeling these came out better for […]

  36. Great choice ..thank youf for being a great host! I love the cookies and am so happy you picked them! I think your a good baker and I love that you try every week! Thanks again!

  37. I’m Jeannette. I’m clumsy, snarky and sarcastic (see: smart-ass), love a good zombie flick and a delicious brownie. Nice to meet cha!

    Your cookies came out looking MUCH better than mine did!! Mine spread like crazy and were too crumbly to eat without your shirt hogging all the jammy goodness. User error I’m sure, so don’t toss and turn about it 😉

    Ps. Use a hammer IF (and ONLY IF) you have coordination. If not, use a big can of beans. Or a baseball bat if you have some pent up aggression to let out 😀

  38. First time visitor and this looks like a fun site! This post made me smile – a lot!
    I love thumbprint cookies and love it that you were generous with the jam! I’m going to add you to my reader!

  39. Great pick. We enjoyed them.

  40. Great pick, Mike!! You are funny and I LOL a lot when I read your blog!!! I loved these cookies — used almonds instead of hazelnuts! Yum! Great job on yours!

  41. There is not one single or married man who could ever be called dumb if they can cook. These really look good and I saw them on http://foodlibrarian.blogspot.com/ blog this am. My hubby and I also use to be fat until we descovered NutriMirror.com after my hubby had a stroke and we needed to learn how to eat healthier. I want to try theses as a treat for the hub and will play around with the recipe, but my question to you is how many calories per serving are yours? By the way, your baseball blog is out of the park….good!!!!

  42. Way to use your week in the spotlight for shameless self-promotion! Very fun post, and your cookies look fun also.

  43. I agree with Nancy, great post and funny, as usual. It was a good recipe choice, too.

  44. Ciao Mike ! Thanks for choosing this great recipe !! I cheated and bought hazelnut’s meal so I save my garlic press for the future !!!

  45. Hi Mike,
    Thanks for playing host this week, great choice of recipe. No one in my family whined that they wanted something different. So that would be thumbs up for thumb print cookies.

    Mimi

  46. Way to go all out with the garlic press! Great choice this week–just what I needed!

  47. thanks for the great pick!

  48. Excellent pick! Thanks for the fun time.

  49. […] here for the recipe and while you’re clicking, scoot over to the TWD blogroll and let my fellow […]

  50. […] here for the recipe and while you’re clicking, scoot over to the TWD blogroll and let my fellow […]

  51. Excellent choice, Mike. Your thumbprints look great, even if a garlic press had to die to give them life. Keep being the funniest baker out there!

  52. yummy – jam overload :O)

  53. Thanks for hosting! I love your site. Happy to have something new to read! You are funny and down to earth. Love it.

  54. LMAO – well when you go to Walmart to buy a new garlic press, grab a nut cracker too! 😉 I befriended you on facebook 🙂 Thanks for hosting this week! Your posts crack me up 🙂

  55. Thanks for your pick this week, Mike. The Big Guys here loved them…could not stop eating them in fact. I love that there are so many possibilities for the filling, can make something for everyone. Yours look great…nice and big!

  56. You crack me up! Congrats on finally getting to chose. I really enjoyed these.

  57. Thanks for the pick this week! Messy cookies are often the best tasting!

  58. I like how you summed yourself up in a nutshell (so to speak). This didn’t end up being my favorite recipe, but still a good pick. I love cookies, so any cookie week is a good week!

  59. i LOVE thumbprint cookies! great recipe post! and yours came out looking so great and “charming” – very much how you come off to be! 🙂 i look forward to following your blog!

  60. Thanks for hosting this week, Mike. I enjoyed baking along with you and I’m quite certain my co-workers appreciate your selection (since I distributed them at work). Yours definitely do look edible – nicely done 🙂

  61. […] of  Ugly Food Dude  selected this week’s recipe and he has it posted on his blog if you feel like making some […]

  62. Having these cookies in the house has spoiled my dinner appetite for the last two nights! Yep, they were a hit with me. Now I’m eyeing that lovely plate of cookies you made.

  63. Great choice- these were delicious! Mine didn’t end up looking too pretty either but for me it’s all about the taste anyway! thanks!

  64. Thanks for a great pick Mike! Love your blog!

  65. Great looking cookies! I think the sloppiness of the jam makes them more appealing bc it means more jam lol Thanks for hosting!

  66. Great choice! These were the best thumbprints I have made.

  67. I was so looking forward to these! It’s a recipe I’ve had marked for a while, and was excited when I saw them for this week! Yours look delicious! Thanks for the great pick!

  68. Shelling your own hazelnuts, hardcore! I get annoyed when I have to skin them, nevermind crack their shells. I think you should give yourself more credit–you are way more of a baker than almost all the guys I know, and I definitely include my kitchen-challenged husband in that group.

  69. dude–thanks for a fun pick! i owe you one for getting me to finally try a thumbprint cookie…would you like me to get you a new garlic press?

  70. Brown Moses Says:

    I tried the thumb print but after I made it the police found my thumb print and arrested me for crimes against cookies.

  71. […] check out his cookies, and because we’re a sharing kind of blog group, you’ll get the recipe there too! I baked these cookies a couple Christmases ago and they were a big hit then. I […]

  72. […] check out his cookies, and because we’re a sharing kind of blog group, you’ll get the recipe there too! I baked these cookies a couple Christmases ago and they were a big hit then. I […]

  73. I don’t know why that comment above this one was linked here! Sorry! Loved this pick and I love reading your blog! I used leftover pulverized almonds from Julia’s recipe, but would love to try it with hazelnuts! Your cookies look soo inviting, I’m going to go get another one right now! =)

  74. Thanks for a great pick this week, Mike! They were a big hit around here, and with my co-workers. I don’t like hazelnuts that much, but they worked well in these cookies, especially with the raspberry jam.

  75. Just found your blog via Katrina at Baking and Boys..and wow, what great reads and chow! You do NOT destroy everything you touch because those jam thumbprints look way too drool worthy and the photos are pretty darn great too! 🙂

  76. […] to Mike of Ugly Food for an Ugly Dude for selecting this week’s thumbprint cookies for us big guys.  You can find the recipe on […]

  77. […] the recipe check out Mike’s blog here and see what other TWD bakers did […]

  78. […] you’d like the recipe, make sure to visit Mike’s blog, Ugly Food Dude. Posted under: TWD,cookies […]

  79. […] (which I ended up making twice because my husband has very little restraint around them) and the Thumbprints for Us Big Guys. I always make thumbprints for Christmas because it seems like the Christmas thing to do. To be […]

  80. I don’t know the way it came up but you made a very informative post. Nice job.

  81. […] was baked on March 9th 2010 for Tuesday’s With Dorie. The recipe can therefore be found on Ugly Food for an Ugly Dude’s blog. I don’t really want to reprint the recipe here because the book really should be […]

  82. […] for Us Big Guys. The recipe can be found on page 164 of Baking: From My Home to Yours or over at Mike’s blog. Check out what my fellow TWD-ers thought of the thumbprints […]

  83. […] started with Dorie Greenspan’s ‘Thumbprints For Us Big Guys’ cookies from the wonderful Baking: From My Home to Yours.  Essentially, they are small hazelnut […]

  84. […] the book. Unfortunately, it had been chosen the week before I started the group, so I had to pick something else. In hindsight, I would have made these ugly little guys with a much, much sharper cheddar cheese, […]

Leave a comment