Tuesdays With Dorie – Toasted Coconut Custard Tarts

I made up a batch of these on Saturday to bring to our new Dungeons and Dragons game on Saturday night. (shut up). I am a dwarf warrior named Thaddeus (shut up). Shut up (shut up).

You should have expected no less from a gentleman who has spent 100% of his $reading budget in the past year on graphic novels. I am a nerd. A geek. A square. A dwarf warrior.

Anyway, I made these into mini-tarts because I don’t own a bigger tart pan, and they’re easier to share, which is also nice. My friends were very complimentary towards the tarts and so they gave me +5 XP. That’s tart experience points, my friends.

I don’t know how to toast coconut properly, so I just dumped a bag of coconut into my toaster and pushed down the lever. There was much smoke.

That last paragraph didn’t really happen; just didn’t have anything else to say. Next week is MY TWD RECIPE. Expect some sort of glorious fanfare.

10 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Toasted Coconut Custard Tarts”

  1. Well Thaddeus, well done.

  2. Looks good. I married a nerd. Good choice. 😉

  3. I was an elf warrior named Star. My weapon of choice was a crossbow. And, I had a dragon named Comet! Great looking tarts! 🙂

  4. Hey dwarf warrior you are so sweet for making your lovely tarts for your fellow D&D friends! I laughed so hard when I read you toasted your coconut in the toaster.so funny!

  5. NERD NERD NERD! But remember in Revenge of the Nerds that Louis got the girl in the end. Why do you think I married a Nerd? Nerds rule the world. HA HA. PS- I literally gasped when I read that you put the coconut in the toaster. Don’t scare me like that. That wasn’t nice. 😛

  6. NERDS RULE!!!! Am one. Kids are. Husband getting better….

    Beautiful tarts.

    I had to look up how to toast coconut, and it DID NOT suggest using the toaster. LOL

  7. You got me on the toaster. I believed you for the tiniest split second.

  8. Great looking tarts…and you almost had me at the coconut. 🙂

  9. Your tarts look great! And I love that you brought them to share with your d&d buddies!

  10. […] 2010 – My Best Chocolate Chip Cookies February 23, 2010 – Honey-Wheat Cookies March 2, 2010 – Toasted-Coconut Custard Tart March 9, 2010 – Thumbprints For Us Big Guys March 16, 2010 – Soft Chocolate and Raspberry Tart […]

Leave a Reply

