Tuesdays With Dorie – Lenox Almond Biscotti

This is as pretty as I could make it.

This is as pretty as I could make it.

There’s not a whole lot of story to how these things came together.  It was a fairly painless process, and the end product was just the right mix of crunchy and soft.  I’m proud of how they turned out.  This will be the first dessert that I bring in to share with my new coworkers.

Today is Columbus Day.  It is the day that we celebrate our European forefathers’ early voyages to the great, uninhabited wilderness that is The United States of America Go Go USA!!!!  All history-shmutzing jingoism aside, it is my great pleasure as a government employee to have a day off of work to really reflect on what Christopher Columbus and his murderous conquests mean to me.  Turns out, they don’t mean much.  However, it was a perfect excuse to have two lunches (Wendy’s and Olive Garden, FYI).

Here’s a little tip about eating at the Olive Garden.  Don’t eat too much.  Otherwise, you’ll be compelled to go to the gym.  In and of itself, this is not a bad idea.  And anyway, we all could stand to be a little more active, right?

Wrong.

If you’re like me, and you regularly cycle or run at high intensity for a good hour and a half, you’re going to work up a stink.  And today (Olive Garden day) your bouquet is going to be reminiscent of garlic-flavored ass.  The gym’s resident jazzercising vampire will be reduced to a pile of dust.  Half of the beautiful women around you will be repulsed, and the other half will unwittingly crave breadstix and ruin their diet later that night.

Welp, see ya.

28 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Lenox Almond Biscotti”

  1. Congratulations on ruining silly girls’ diets 🙂 There’s just something about those Olive Garden breadsticks… Your biscotti, on the other hand, are adorable. A little lumpy, slightly squat, and incredibly delicious looking.

  2. You had me at Olive Garden. Right now they have their never-ending pasta bowl. It will be the death of me. But at least I’ll die happy right? HAHA. Oh yeah… biscotti. Um. Glad you liked it! 😉
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  3. That picture is great! You did good!

  4. Glad your co-workers finally get to share in the bounty. And, um, thanks for the gym images?

  5. Super cute biscotti. I love that we can celebrate someone getting lost today! whoo hoo Columbus!

  6. LOL, gym escapades post Olive Garden. Glad that the biscotti turned out so nicely for you 🙂

  7. I didn’t even know it was Columbus day till Superman said “no mail today” around 3:30 pm.

    Ooopsie…poopsie

  8. ha – HILARIOUS! since the company i work for is british, no columbus day holiday for us. we yanks had to sit in our offices and think deep thoughts about columbus on our own. but your biscotti look great…..

  9. I think your co-workers are going to be very impressed and very happy that you took the job! They look perfect.

  10. Your new coworkers will love you for the cookies, but the garlic scented sweat may not go over so well….

  11. LOL Who needs exercise anyways! Just have some biscotti instead! LOL
    You know, I think you might have to change your blog’s name sometimes, as those as truly not as ugly as you seem to think! Wow…

  12. The biscotti look great! Lovely flower-like arrangement on that plate- you might have to think of a better way to situate them to make them look “ugly”.

  13. What a beautiful plate of biscotti! Happy Columbus Day!

  14. love it. i could write a whole post on the gym rats at our gym…their biceps alone send me into the fetal position.

  15. haha, that is why you need to eat *after* going to the gym 😉 the biscotti look great!

  16. Those look DELIGHTFUL! I wish that I had co-workers who brought homemade treats, instead of cow-orkers who steal the office cookies and then leave the empty box on my desk. Bastards.

  17. My hubs worked at Olive Garden in college, and said that he smelled like garlic the entire time. Columbus Day was way more fun as a kid, when we drew pictures of the Nina, the Pinta, and the Santa Maria, than it has been as an adult, what with the growing concerns about what Christopher proceeded to do upon his discovery of the “new land.” Oh well, at least you got a day off and two lunches out of the whole deal! You’ll be a rock star with your new co-workers if you keep bringing treats like biscotti to work! Yours look great!

  18. I didn’t make these because I’m pretty sure biscotti is at fault for most major world crises. That’s how much I hate it. It’s not that it tastes bad, it’s just that it’s such a LAZY cookie. Like, “don’t worry about making me all tender and chewy and delicious! I’m perfectly happy being cooked into a rock of inadequacy and then being dipped in the coffee that YOU DON’T DRINK just to make me edible! Carry on!” So I decided to take one of my two by-weeks. I’m proud of you, though. Not an errant car key in sight in your photo. And I didn’t know that you, too, were a runner and cyclist. I am as well, and my personal fragrance is probably that of EggBeaters and chocolate, since I happily eat nothing but horrible protein all day so I can guiltlessy chow down my own weight in chocolate products like a disgusting pig at night. And then when I talk about food, people say things like “Oh my GOD. You’re so lucky you can eat like that and not gain weight!” Yeah. Lucky. I run up fucking hills for hours each day and ruin delicious yogurt with abhorrent protein powder all day just so I can have a bite of cake and not turn into a double-wide with blonde hair. I’m just SOOOOOOO lucky!

    Wow. Turns out I’m bitter.

  19. I love the circle… I could eat my way around it!

  20. These look perfect! I loved making them.

  21. who knew one little lunch at olive garden could have such a diverse effect on the vampires/ladies? that last paragraph really made me laugh. i’m jealous of your biscotti, mine came out like thin strips.

  22. Columbus Day 2008 was not kind to me. I’ve been sick for days and since hubby proclaimed that I can’t possibly be contagious still, I crawled out of bed long enough to make the biscotti and check out how yours turned out. Your story made me laugh… and now I’m going to check out other TWDers too 🙂 Your biscotti looks great btw 🙂

  23. Great job on the biscotti. And on the job too. And the gym???

  24. garlic-flavored ass…that’s so much worse than regular- flavored ass, i can even begin to comprehend. i think your cookie plate looks quite pretty, actually.

  25. Oh man, You’d have to work out for three days straight to work off one of those breadsticks at the Olive Garden! And we wouldn’t want to kill of the resident vampire, would we!?? Those biscotti look awesome!

  26. How funny! Love your gym story. Do you take spinning? I love those classes. Your biscotti look yummy!

  27. That plate of biscotti look very pretty!

  28. […] 2008 – Creme Brulee October 7, 2008 – Caramel Peanut Topped Brownie Cake October 14, 2008 – Lenox Almond Biscotti October 21, 2008 – Pumpkin Muffins October 28, 2008 – Chocolate-Chocolate Cupcakes November 4, […]

Leave a comment