Tuesdays With Dorie – Caramel Peanut-Topped Brownie Cake

Now this is more like it!  I’m tired of all these successful baked goods!  Give me something that I can mangle!  Give me caramel peanut-topped brownie cake!

It’s a bit strange that in all my months of baking, I’ve never actually had to make a cake.  I’ve made pies and cobblers, cookies and tortes, puddings and ice creams.  So many absolutely intimidating recipes, all from scratch.  Yet, I haven’t had to tackle the fairly simple tasks of cakes or cupcakes.  Tonight I made my first cake and it’s turd-city.

At least visually.

A flopt cake most foul

A flop't cake most foul

The cake is flat and sunken.  It may have been my impatience.  I removed the cake from the springform pan almost immediately after it came out of the oven, and I “topped” it shortly thereafter.

I’m not sure if my topping is “correct” or not.  It tastes absolutely like caramel, but it’s not very sauce-like (saucy?) at all.  It quickly solidified into a thick layer of insane, rock-hard caramel goodness.  Here is the finished product, artlessly placed with the clutter.

I am Brownie Cake, destructor of fillings and miscellaneous dental work.

I am Brownie Cake, destructor of fillings and miscellaneous dental work.

Lately I’ve been reviewing my baked goods like I review my ladiezz:  it’s all about looks and not about substance.  Not today.  Today is the day we fight back.  How did this taste?  It tasted damn good.  Moist where it needed to be and chewy.  I was hesitant to add the nuts to the caramel (see:  picky family), but the cake would have been almost sickening (both in sweetness and consistency) without the peanuts firmly nestled in my cake’s concave bosom.

So what’s new with ol’ Mike Spoodles, you’re asking?

I just started a new job which begins with three months of classroom training.   There are fifteen tests, and if I receive less than 80% on a test, I’m fired.  Joy!  I guess it speaks to the importance of the job that I have to go through such fastidious screening, and I’d imagine once I get through it I’ll be on the fast track to any number of high-ranking government positions.  Imagine:  me as Pimpmaster General of the United States of America.  It’s a dream!

My sweet tooth rules the day, and it seems like this is the general list of rules for my cubicle.

  1. When studying for a test, it is imperative that you eat a lot of candy.  This will aid in information retention.
  2. After taking a test, you are bound to be nervous.  Eat a lot of candy.  This will make you feel better.
  3. After receiving positive test grade, celebrate by eating a lot of candy.  The day is yours!

I may have eaten an entire bag of Hershey’s “Candy Corn-flavored” Kisses over the past week.  You may think it’s impossible to make white chocolate taste MORE like sugar, but you’re wrong.  Dead wrong.  Diabetes wrong!

I’d type more, but I have to go watch Heroes with my liberal allies.  Meanwhile, my brother and his congressional allies will be watching Prison Break.

32 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Caramel Peanut-Topped Brownie Cake”

  1. Hey, as long as it tastes good, who cares what it looks like, right? =) And at least it doesn’t sounds like you decorated your whole stovetop with caramel like I did… Good luck with all the tests!

  2. Your cake looks great! And if it was moist, you rock. Mine was a bit dry (my fault on the baking time).

  3. Your cake looks delicious. I had some issues with mine, but it was because I played around with the size of the cakes. Your new job sounds stressful! Candy is a good destressor, I agree. May the Force be with you!

  4. Well, Dorie did warn that it tends to sink, right? And I don’t know about you, but it looks darned tasty too. Good luck with the new job!

  5. Candy Corn-flavored Kisses? Now that’s candy. Glad you got to try out a cake and you liked it too. How pleasant of you. Have fun!

  6. Who cares if it’s pretty? It’s what’s inside that counts. At least that’s what I keep telling myself. And the sunken center just made a nice pool for all that caramel.

  7. yeah, dorie says it sinks (mine did, too), so i think you were spot on. tasted good and that’s all that’s important. now go hit the books–pimpmaster general positions are reserved only for the top of the class!

  8. Pimpmaster? Did you really say pimpmaster?? I think if you really wanna be gangsta you have to say pimpmasta. I think its your english lit coming out but the correct lingo is “masta”. Just FYI. HAHA. Can I just tell you that when you described the cake as having a bosom I literally cackled. I need to go revise my post with the word bosom now. Glad you and family enjoyed the cake 🙂
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  9. Wonderful.

    I think it looks wonderful.

  10. Yours looks great. I’m a big Heroes fan myself. Love it. But you can’t watch Heroes and make caramel I’ll tell you that. I burned my first batch and the second batch didn’t work either!!

  11. Glad your cake tasted great. I let my caramel get a smidge too amber (as Dorie puts it) and the cake was a tad dry. Urgh, I do not like failure in the kitchen.

    And those candy corn kisses: I’m pretty amazed you can eat more than one! I got them last year and was horrified. Do you detect a note of fake butter taste in them? I could have sent you the ones I tried to push on my unsuspecting coworkers.

    Best wishes on your job tests!

  12. Or you can be like me and watch Heroes but tape Prison Break… darn DVR has me addicted to everything on TV because it’s all so easy to tape! And before commenting on your fabulous cake, just curious how those candy corn flavored kisses are. I have a weakness for candy corn.

    My caramel was a bit hard as well… not sure if that was normal. And my cake sunk a bit too. But ah well, it was yummy and it still looked kinda pretty. 🙂

  13. Ok, I just choked a little from laughing at your last line. This was a nice improvement because I was feel ill reading about how many candy-corns you ingested (those things make me want to vomit).

    Such an emotional gamut reading your blog.

    Glad you thought the cake was yummy. My post should be up by tomorrow.

  14. Spoodles, you’ve outdone yourself. Your cake looks about like mine did, although your caramel was harder. Maybe you didn’t use enough butter and cream. You watching those girlish hips? Also, I absolutely love that you take pictures of your counter clutter. I spend about 30% of my total photography time trying to find an angle that doesn’t show the empty yogurt containers and dried spaghetti sauce on my counters. It’s hard. Of course, the alternative of actually CLEANING the counters is even harder.

    Now the important bit: I am a sugar junkie. I love white chocolate. I love candy corn. I will happily eat candy corn until I am shaped like a goddamned candy corn, so I have to thwart myself by only eating candy corn directly out of the Jelly-Belly bulk section of Target while I shop. I guess I’m admitting to stealing about 8 candy corn every time I visit the place. I should be ashamed. To blunt that shame, I’ll tell you something worse. I really wanted to try the candy corn kisses. I thought it might be chocolate kisses with a filling of candy corn goop. It was not. I know this because I totally opened a bag in the store and ate one, and it tasted so bad that I just put the bag in a stray cart. Terrible. Really bad. I can’t believe you ate a whole bag. And this is coming from someone who has eating Karo syrup directly off of a spoon to get a sugar fix.

  15. eaten, not eating

  16. Hm…I’m thinking about making this over the weekend for family, but your post scares me. I’m not uber successful when it comes to anything rising. I’m a flopper. But not a flipper, coincidentally.

    GO HEROES!!! You should live blog for those of us who will be in class tonight.

  17. I did the same thing with removing it right away and topping it too soon. Oh well…it tasted good!

  18. I think the cake looks really nice!! and where on earth can I find candy corn flavored kisses?

  19. Re: Hershey’s Kisses…the Candy Corn ones are good, but have you tried the Pumpkin Spice ones yet? They are DIVINE. 🙂

  20. looks pretty good to me! I think it is meant to be sunken!!

  21. I don’t think your cake looks mangled; I think it looks exactly as Dorie envisioned it. By the way, if you get the position, you will DEFINITELY be the first Pimpmaster General to have made a Caramel Peanut Topped Brownie Cake.

  22. Dude, what *are* you talking about? Mine sunk in the middle too but hey, it still tasted great and my co-workers LOVED it. You did a fine job and don’t think otherwise. Pimpmaster General? Yeah, I can see that 😉

    Have a delicious day,
    ~Em

  23. No, I didn’t catch the Clone Wars movie…mostly I run around in circles and don’t get much recreational TV or movie watching these days. I’ll have to look into that 🙂 May the force be with you 🙂

  24. Here are my favorite parts of your post:

    “my cake’s concave bosom”
    “’ve been reviewing my baked goods like I review my ladiezz: it’s all about looks and not about substance”
    “Pimpmaster General of the United States of America” (hotness)
    “Diabetes wrong”

    I think I could just write a blog about how good and funny your blog is. No joke.

  25. Mike, you did not fail! The cake is supposed to look like “a concave bosom,” from what Dorie says. Really, I think it turned out great, and it tasted good, which my husband says is what really matters.

  26. Mike, even though your cake is clearly a roaring success, somehow I always appreciate your humble thoughts of failure. Maybe you are like Schlepprock or Charlie Brown-even funnier when things are down. Good luck on your new job. Candy is imperative for studying. How else can you be expected to stay awake? M and Ms got me through grad school.

  27. I meant to tell you in earlier comment that my hubs is from Harrisburg, PA! I don’t hear that name very often since I am in the south!!

  28. Your cake looks very good!! My sauce didn’t solidify at all and my cake was a bit dry….

  29. Your cake looks great! Good luck with the studying! How did you get your caramel to stay on the cake and not go over the edge?

    Cherie
    *Weekly Giveaways on my blog!
    http://www.craftyjuicebroker.wordpress.com

    *Sale in my Etsy Store!
    http://www.craftyjuicebroker.etsy.com

  30. CANDY CORN flavored kisses? PUMPKIN SPICE flavored kisses?! Where do you people LIVE and why can’t I get any of that here? Stupid FDA. What good did they ever do anyway (post Red Dye #8, of course)…..

    Also: the brownie cake looks dang good. I’d hit that. Uh, with a knife…to cut it….and, um, eat some.

  31. {Hey|Hello} There. I found your blog using msn. This is {a very|an extremely|a really} well written article. {I will|I’ll} {be sure|make sure} to bookmark it and {come back|return} to read more of your useful {information|info}. Thanks for the post. …

    Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect….

  32. […] September 23, 3008 – Dimply Plum Cake September 30, 2008 – Creme Brulee October 7, 2008 – Caramel Peanut Topped Brownie Cake October 14, 2008 – Lenox Almond Biscotti October 21, 2008 – Pumpkin Muffins October 28, 2008 […]

Leave a Reply

