Peppernuts aka Pfeffernüsse

This is a recipe for a cookie I’ve always called “peppernuts,” but apparently is called “Pfeffernüsse” in some nonsense language. They are traditionally Christmas cookies in my family (I’ve never formally blogged about my mother’s Christmas cookie spread, but it’s something to behold). However, I have a family member visiting town and they requested peppernuts, so here they are.

Untitled

They’re very good. The secret ingredient is something called rosewater, which is – obviously – floral water. I’ve never seen this in stores. Any time I want to make these cookies, I have to borrow my mom’s shady-looking 1990s pharmacy bottle of rosewater. Don’t skip it – it makes all the difference.

When I went online to look for a recipe to link to, I found that there are a thousand different kinds of Pfeffernüsse, and fifty different shades of grey. Since I couldn’t find it with Google, here is the recipe my family uses. The recipe, as printed, just lists ingredients and a very brief description: ”
Sprinkle with sugar and put a raisin on top. Bake at 350 for 10 minutes.” I made these in the same way I make most cookies. Mix dry ingredients and put aside. Mix softened butter and sugar. Add eggs. Switch mixer to low and add dry ingredients and liquid ingredients (alternating) only until the last of the dry ingredients disappear. However, do it how you want. I’m not the cookie pope.

Peppernuts

2 C. sugar
5 C. flour
1 C. sour milk (put 1 T. vinegar in a cup measure and then fill with milk)
1 t. baking soda
3 eggs
2 t. baking powder
½ lb. butter or margarine
¼ t. salt
1 T. rosewater

Sprinkle with sugar and put a raisin on top. Bake at 350 for 10 minutes.

One Response to “Peppernuts aka Pfeffernüsse”

  1. rosewater can be found in most pharmacies.

Leave a Reply

