Thanksgiving Empanadas, Shrimp Tortilla Soup, and yet another Dorie berry tart

Well, let’s take a look at the things I want to feature this week. I’ve been collecting recipes I’d like to try from various cookbooks I own, magazines that I received (or had been given to me), and sites online. This week’s featured dishes (IT’S TUESDAY):

Untitled

Shrimp tortilla soup: The recipe is from some Martha Stewart digest that a coworker had lent to me a few years ago, a few days before being laid off. He was a nice guy. I miss him. Here’s the recipe. It’s called “10 Minute Shrimp and Tortilla Soup,” but Martha doesn’t seem to include the part of the prep-work that is the most time-consuming anyway – chopping onions, mincing garlic, chopping peppers, etc. I really liked this. The recipe serves one, so I doubled it for the two of us – but you probably don’t have to, because it made a bunch of soup. My wife did not like it because she hates spicy things. I told her to look at the ingredients more closely when picking a recipe from the stack! I thought it was good. It is fairly quick (due to using chicken broth rather than homemade stock). I’d eat it again.

Untitled

Thanksgiving empanadas. This was based on a recipe from Bon Appetit. I had started receiving issues of Bon Appetit a few years ago, and I had no idea where they came from. I never subscribe to magazines! I accused a number of people of subscribing me to the mag, and eventually I found out that it was my pal Webber. Hi Webber! Thank you! Here is the recipe. The recipe originally came from the magazine’s Thanksgiving issue as an idea to make a meal out of leftovers. Problem: I didn’t have any Thanksgiving leftovers. So I made a batch of mashed potatoes, rehydrated some Stove Top (blarf), and replaced “chopped leftover turkey” with ground turkey, which we had in abundance at the time. My wife was much more agreeable to this, although not bowled over. I felt a little more positively towards it, although I think the whole thing would have greatly improved with the recommended cranberry sauce, which I couldn’t find at my local grocery store.

Untitled

And here’s Dorie’s classic berry tart – probably about the fifth time I’ve made this recipe. It’s quick; it travels well; it’s delicious. You make a tart shell, you make some pastry cream, and you buy some berries. You put it all together when it’s time to serve, in like two minutes. Tastes delicious! This one was for a July 4 picnic with my family, and it’ll most likely be the last time I make this one for a while.

Leave a Reply

