Tuesdays With Dorie Kablammo – Peppermint Cream Puff Ring?

From what I can tell, I only have two Dorie recipes left after this one. So of course, I needed one (hopefully) last disaster, of my own design.

Untitled

This is my cream puff goop puff. A few things went wrong. For starters, my “ring” of pastry did not come out right. It did not puff – it was dense and eggy, and it tasted like french toast. The pictured puff is one of the four “extras” I made with the dough that was not necessary for the ring. They all rose just fine. Not sure what the big problem was.

The mint cream was was more of an ooze. This is my fault. Dorie called for the cream, which had been steeped in mint leaves, to chill for three hours prior to whipping. I thought one hour was enough, and clearly it did not whip at all. I wasn’t a huge fan of the natural mint flavor, although it probably would have been more refreshing had it been lighter. I didn’t even bother making the chocolate glaze.

It wasn’t a total wash, though – I now know how to make cream puff pastry dough and will probably make a handful of small puffs (with a simpler pastry cream) for a get-together on Friday. WE SHALL SEE

One Response to “Tuesdays With Dorie Kablammo – Peppermint Cream Puff Ring?”

  1. […] 2008– French Chocolate Brownies June 10, 2008– La Palette’s Strawberry Tart June 17, 2008– Peppermint Creme Puff Ring June 24, 2008– Mixed Berry Cobbler July 1, 2008– Apple Cheddar Scone – YOU’RE […]

Leave a Reply

