Tuesdays With Dorie RETRO – Fresh Lemon Cream Tart

Another Tuesday, another kitchen disaster.

The tart dough itself was business as usual – I’ve made that 10 times now, and it’s second nature.

The custard had to be made double-boiler style. My heatproof bowl, which I have used dozens of times for the same technique, EXPLODED. I’m talking shrapnel, people.

Untitled

IF YOU CAN’T TAKE THE HEAT, GET OUT OF THE KITCHEN, BOWL!

The next day, I was rearmed with fresh ingredients and a new bowl, and I tried again. I’m glad I did – this recipe was amazing. The cream was not too sour, not too sweet, and velvety smooth thanks to the butter and extensive blending time. This one will go down in the annals of history as an ugly, ugly, ugly tart that tasted terrific.

Untitled

One Response to “Tuesdays With Dorie RETRO – Fresh Lemon Cream Tart”

  1. […] March 25, 2008– Caramel-Topped Flan April 1, 2008– Gooey Chocolate Cakes April 8, 2008– The Most Extraordinary French Lemon Cream Tart April 8, 2008– Fresh Orange Cream Tart April 15, 2008– Marshmallows April 22, 2008– Bill’s […]

Leave a Reply

