Tuesdays With Dorie RETRO – Quintuple Chocolate Brownies

Although Tuesdays With Dorie as we know it is quintuple dead, I’ll stay true to my word. I’m going to finish this book, which means doing the recipes that the group originally baked from January 2008 through July 1, 2008 (minus a few that I baked as extra credit during my original run). It took a little doing (the list of already-made recipes seems to have disappeared from the Internet to make way for the new book – how soon we forget – although my pal Archive.org has an older version of the list available), but now I’m on the case.

The quintuple chocolate brownies pictured here (for those counting at home, that’s cocoa powder, unsweetened chocolate, bittersweet chocolate, milk chocolate, and white chocolate) are delicious. The white chocolate layer is not as thick, smooth, or pleasant as it looks in the book, but that’s not my MO anyway.

I almost screwed these up, and the whole thing went into the oven for three minutes before I realized that I had not added the dry ingredients. Thankfully, nothing had really heated up at that point and the brownies turned out great in another pan with flour, cocoa, and salt added.

6 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie RETRO – Quintuple Chocolate Brownies”

  1. I like that you pulled it out after 3 minutes in the oven. They look yummy!

  2. Wow..good save..they look moist and yummy!

  3. Glad you have decided to finish the recipes. I have the list if you need it. I only have 64 left to do now since I made the brownies for today too.

  4. Great minds think alike! I’m going back and doing the 20-something recipes I missed also! Started this week with the first recipe, the brown sugar pecan shortbread cookies. I have a list of the recipes, with original posting dates and links to the posted recipes. If you want it, email me and I can send it to you.

  5. I remember these! They are wonderfully delicious and I usually cut them in tiny 1″ squares because they are sooooo rich. I also have to chill them a bit to keep the top layer firm. Seeing your brownies make me wish I had one right now!

  6. […] 1, 2008 – Brown Sugar Pecan Shortbread Cookies January 8, 2008 – Quintuple Chocolate Brownies January 15, 2008 – Hidden Berry Cream Cheese Torte January 22, 2008 – Perfection Pound Cake […]

Leave a Reply

