Casey K: Pizza Hero

If you’re one of the few people that follows my lousy pizza blog, http://pizzashewrote.tumblr.com, you know that I recently had a disaster: my pizza stone shattered into a bajillion (four) pieces.

Since September, I’ve been despondent about the whole thing. My homemade pizzas have been the pits and I fell back on the worst things: DiGiorno. Newman’s Own. Tombstone. Off-brands. Pizza stopped becoming a glorious mission and started becoming sad.

About a week ago, I received a package in the mail. I didn’t open the package because I thought it was a gift I had ordered for a wedding. However, when a SECOND box came, I had a mystery to solve. Turns out that the first box was actually a pizza stone, sent by my pal Casey K.

Casey is one of my many friends from a long chain of Internet interaction that started on a forum years ago and trailed across social media until it landed on Google Reader, a content-based social network where like-minded and not-so-like-minded individuals could share thoughts and opinions on news and pictures of cats. As plain old stupid as this sounds, I count the people I spent time with on Google Reader among my good friends. Now Google is dead to me, and these people remain very much alive in various corners. Casey’s very generous move was just one instance where these people have shown that my super-weird affection is not only one-sided. I came out of writing retirement to write a nice blog for my pal and to express intent to take this good will and “pay it forward” in whatever way I can.

Since this is a food blog, I’ll leave you with some pizza, cooked deliciously and appropriately on this new pizza stone. Thanks, and the happiest of holidays to all.


The new pizza stone, topped with two dough-balls getting ready to go into the fridge for a three-day cold ferment


The first pizza off of the new stone – I apologize for the lighting, and the char never seems to come over very well on an iPhone camera.


A nice shot of the speckles of char on a well-cooked pizza pie.

Thanks, Casey. You can visit Casey at Tumblr or Twitter and tell him he’s a good dude.

One Response to “Casey K: Pizza Hero”

  1. Merry Christmas! I’m only sorry there was such a delay— seeing the blog post was heartbreaking!

Leave a Reply

