The COOKIEPEDIA by Stacy Adimando

Hello friends. This is a post about The Cookiepedia by Stacy Adimando. Some nice publishing-type people sent me a copy of this new cookbook to look over, and it’s pretty neat. In typical Ugly Dude fashion, I spent a lot of time with this book. Some of that time was spent looking at it. A lot of the time was spent not looking at it. Somewhere along the line, the date of release came and went. Oops! But look, it’s a fun book.

As the title indicates, this is a cookbook full of cookies. It’s got a lot of cookies, pretty much anything you can think of with some variations. The most intriguing cookies to me were the variations on name-brand cookies. There are recipes for chocolate sandwich cookies, and recipes for some thin, minty cookies. I’ll be trying those as soon as I get the chance.

One nice thing is that there’s plenty of photo reference in the book. There are cookbook style photos for most recipes, and every section has a table of contents with a picture of the cookie. It’s very helpful. I found myself asking, “What the hell are alfajores,” and then I looked it up. Now I know what the hell alfajores are: they are a kind of cookie.

Part of the reason it took me so long to review this book was because I wanted to actually try the recipes out; since there are only two of us in this townhouse, I needed to wait for appropriate opportunities to make cookies. I eventually did make two cookies: the classic peanut butter cookies, as well as a variation of the author’s butter balls.

These are the peanut butter cookies – classic, delicious. I brought them to a dinner at my parents’ house and they disappeared.

These are the butter balls. Instead of rolling/dusting these with powdered sugar, I ended up rolling them in a mix of powdered sugar and cocoa. This made them look like little potatoes. They were delicious.

Anyway, if you like cookies and want a handy book that has all the cookies, this is one such book and I’m sure I’ll get a lot of use out of it because I am fat. Maybe you can like it too! You can go here to see a few pages and maybe even buy the book.

One Response to “The COOKIEPEDIA by Stacy Adimando”

  1. Those totally look like baby potatoes.

Leave a Reply

