Tuesdays With Dorie – Tropical Crumble (and orange berry muffins)

THIS POST HAS BEEN EDITED. It originally said that the crumble contained papaya. This was a weird mental slip. It contained mango per the recipe.

Hello.

This is the tropical crumble – a syrupy mix of mango, bananas, and ginger, topped by a pecan/butter/brown-sugar crumble.

My crumble melted into a layer. Otherwise, this is pretty good. It cooked up right, it tasted fruity and a bit summery, and I didn’t explode after I ate it.

I did a little baking over the weekend for a friend’s sympathy basket. These are Dorie’s orange berry muffins. This is one of the few recipes that I missed before I joined the group; eventually I will do them all. These turned out okay, although they got pretty dark and they didn’t even need all the cook time. I ended up only donating half the batch, as the other half was a bit too dark to share. They tasted fine though.

6 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Tropical Crumble (and orange berry muffins)”

  1. looks great! I like that you used papaya 🙂

  2. This looks amazing, and I love the papaya twist. The muffins look good too – I think they are the right colour, nice and golden.

  3. My crumble melted a bit too, which I blamed on the moistness of the pineapple I used in place of bananas. Seems like it was a bigger problem. This wasn’t super pretty but it was sure tasty!

  4. Oooooops – you guys, “papaya” was a slip, I used mango. Just thinking about papayas I guess.

  5. Everything looks good – papaya or not!

  6. […] Hidden Berry Cream Cheese Torte January 22, 2008 – Perfection Pound Cake January 29, 2008 – Orange Berry Muffins February 5, 2008 – Black and White Chocolate Cake February 12, 2008– Brown Sugar-Apple […]

Leave a Reply

