Tuesdays With Dorie – Carrot Spice Muffins and various cakes

Hello, friends.

These are the Carrot Spice Muffins from Dorie. They were very simple to throw together, and they cooked up perfectly. Taste great, and I’m sure the remaining muffins will be a hit at work. Also pictured: rising pizza dough, tomatoes, and chocolate buttercream icing. A winning combination.

This is a cheeseburger cake. I made this for my wife’s birthday. It was made using this recipe. I used a box cake mix, like the directions call for (this is actually the first time I’ve ever used a box, believe it or not), however I made the buttercream frostings (chocolate and vanilla) from scratch using Wilton’s basic recipes.

This is another cake that I made for one of my work friends. I used the leftover icing from the previous cake. It’s iced in vanilla, with chocolate buttercream between the cakes. The recipe for the cake itself was an adaptation of Dorie’s Perfect Party Cake (minus the lemon extract and lemon zest, plus 1 tsp of vanilla extract). I need to learn to work on my lettering, which would probably be easier with a smaller round icing tip.

7 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Carrot Spice Muffins and various cakes”

  1. I love Dories Perfect Party Cake, it is yummy. The carrot muffins are pretty good to. All your creations look great.

  2. Your muffins look great and Im sue your wife loved the cake! How sweet of you to bake her one!

  3. You’ve been busy! Everything looks awesome. Lucky wife and coworkers…

  4. Your muffins look picture perfect.

  5. nice cakes! and muffins, too. i think the hardest part of writing on a cake is nicely fitting everything in, while keeping the lettering evenly sized… looks like you got that down fine.

  6. I love how your post is chock full of wonderful baked goods! I’m particularly impressed with your cake decorating skills – decorating scares me to death! Thanks for baking the muffins with me this week, and glad to know they were a prospective hit at work!!

  7. […] 2011 – Creamy Dark Chocolate Sorbet August 2, 2011 – Cocoa Almond Meringues August 9, 2011 – Carrot Spice Muffins August 16, 2011 – Tropical Crumble August 23, 2011 – Golden Brioche Loaves August 30, 2011 – […]

Leave a Reply

