Tuesdays With Dorie – Cornmeal Shortbread Cookies and Strawberry Ice Cream Tart

The cookies this week were quick and easy – a very good thing, as my days are getting more crowded as the summer starts and the wedding nears. The cornmeal in this cookie is a textural oddity; it reminds me of getting a grain of sand in my mouth while I’m eating something at the beach, but it makes me want to eat more and more and more cookies. MORECOOKIES!

I also redid the ice cream tart from a few weeks ago for Easter – this time with strawberry ice cream. It was pretty good, or at least I was pleased. People did not seem impressed by the strength of the almond flavor in the tart, so I’ll probably hold back on that in the fruit-flavored variant.

9 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Cornmeal Shortbread Cookies and Strawberry Ice Cream Tart”

  1. Your cookies look so good – they’re so nice and tall! The strawberry ice cream tart would be perfect for Easter!

    Good luck with all the planning!

  2. Loved these cookies. I like the crunch of the cornmeal. Nice job!

  3. they look delicate and crumbly. nice job. and oh, that pie— i want some now!

  4. These were just great, nothing more to say about them!

  5. Good luck with your upcoming wedding. I think any cookie that reminds you of the beach is a good thing.

  6. lovely cookies!

    and even yummier looking tart πŸ™‚

  7. The cornmeal was so subtle and at times I didn’t notice it at all. I wasn’t expecting much of these cookies but I really loved them!

  8. Looking at your picture makes me want to have one of those cookies right now! They were definitely yummy.

  9. […] – Strawberry Rhubarb Double Crisp April 19, 2011 – A Tourtely Apple Tart April 26, 2011 – Cornmeal Shortbread Cookies May 3, 2011 – Black and White Chocolate Marbled Loaf Cake May 10, 2011 – Pecan Brown Sugar […]

Leave a Reply

