Tuesdays With Dorie – Strawberry Rhubarb Double Crisp, Broccoli Cheddar Soup, and Crockpot Thai Chicken

RHUBARB is my arch-enemy. This is the second TWD recipe that called for rhubarb, and the second time I could not find rhubarb.

I went to:

  1. Giant #1
  2. Karns
  3. Giant #2
  4. Weis
  5. Giant #3
  6. Wal-Mart

No fresh rhubarb, no frozen rhubarb. One store had some strawberry rhubarb preserves, but I didn’t want to up the strawberry. My only other option was Wegman’s, but that store is 30 minutes away and even then it’s not a guarantee.

So I made the crisp without rhubarb. It’s still super-good, but it steams me when I can’t make things according to Dorie’s recipe. I NEED TO.

I made broccoli cheddar soup from scratch this weekend and it was pretty good (and pretty thick, which just means I should have cooked it a little less probably, but good).

I also made crockpot Thai Chicken over the weekend, which again was pretty good and again a little overcooked. I think our crockpot’s “low” is a bit higher than most crockpots’ “low,” so I’ve ended up condensing everything into a glop in it. Then again, I overdid the broccoli-cheddar soup, and that wasn’t in a crockpot, so maybe the lesson is that I should be more attentive for god’s sake.

12 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Strawberry Rhubarb Double Crisp, Broccoli Cheddar Soup, and Crockpot Thai Chicken”

  1. I had no luck finding ruhburb–in any form. I subbed a mix of frozen fruits. Delish, my ruhburb will be ready in a couple of weeks, I’ll make it again. Thanks for sending me the crockpot recipe from last week. Crock pots are tricky, my low is pretty high. I have to watch it. But the point with crockpots is you don’t have to watch them–right??

  2. A crock pot tip: if you know that your crock pot runs high, have broth or bouillon on hand to add in to recipes. I made a mushroom stew (which will be appearing on food-like soon) and had to add an extra eight ounces of veggie broth than I had originally intended.

    Next time you are looking for rhubarb, or other odd ingredients, plan ahead and come visit me in the philly burbs. We have access to all sorts of oddities here. . . And it would be nice to see you.

  3. I couldn’t find rhubarb either…I had made it a few times in June over the past few years when rhubarb is in season here in CT and it is very good…you will like it.

  4. The crisp part of this recipe was so good, I didn’t miss the rhubarb. 🙂 That soup looks yummy, too!

  5. I found frozen rhubarb at Whole Foods, so I guess I lucked out. I really wanted to use rhubarb since I’d not baked with it before. I was super happy that I could find it because I loved the crisp!

  6. I finally found fresh rhubarb at the fifth store I tried. I got lucky! Loved this one.

  7. Rhubarb sucks anyways:) I made mine with strawberries. Yours look sgood and the soup and chicken look fine!

  8. Sorry that you couldn’t find the rhubarb! I hope you can try it sometime. Thanks for baking along with me this week!

  9. I think this is the only time ever that we have something in the UK that you guys in the US can’t get – normally it’s the other way round! We’ve had rhubarb since about January. I think just strawberry sounds much yummier anyway.

  10. It all looks good, rhubarb or not…I’m here to report that there was no fresh rhubarb in the Collegeville, PA Wegman’s, so it’s probably good that you didn’t make the special trip. I feel like they always have everything – it’s kind of their thing – so I was a little surprised.

  11. i’ll take that thai chicken recipe

  12. […] March 29, 2011 – Pecan Powder Puffs April 5, 2011 – Coffee Ice Cream Tart April 12, 2011 – Strawberry Rhubarb Double Crisp April 19, 2011 – A Tourtely Apple Tart April 26, 2011 – Cornmeal Shortbread Cookies May 3, 2011 […]

Leave a Reply

