Tuesdays With Dorie – Coffee Ice Cream Tart and Crock Pot Chicken Pot Pie

This is my coffee ice cream tart. I bought a full-sized tart pan for this one, because I figured you’d all be tired of my mini tarts by this point.

The dough didn’t quite stretch well enough and this is a bit uneven. Still, I’m quite pleased with how it looks.

As for taste, it’s also pretty good. I’m not big on coffee but was too big a stickler to try a substitution. Also, I’m not sure I ground my almonds finely enough for the filling, but it was past midnight and we share a townhouse wall with a small family that I didn’t want to wake up.

Rachel got a slow cooker for her bridal shower, and this is our inaugural meal: chicken pot pie. It turned out pretty well, and while it took 5 hours to cook, the chicken was tender and the active work time was probably only 15 minutes. I instantly see the appeal of the slow cooker.

It tastes better than it photographs.

7 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Coffee Ice Cream Tart and Crock Pot Chicken Pot Pie”

  1. Your tart looks great! And I bet that chicken pot pie was delicious! Thanks for baking with me!

  2. Your tart looks great! I’ve never made pot pie in the slow cooker; I’ll have to give that a try.

  3. The tart was a winner, I’m sure the family next door was glad you didn’t process your almonds to a creme! Although it was fun to watch the almonds transform!
    I’m interested in your crock pot chicken pot pie. Are you going to share your recipe?

  4. Wow your tart is beautiful to say the least! I love slow cookers and use mine ALL the time! I would love the recipe if you share! Facebook it to me if you want:)

  5. Slow cookers are great! I’ve made cakes and roasts (during my roast days) and dips and more. But it’s particular useful for soups and stews and casseroles. Bridal showers are great for fun kitchen gadgets:)
    Where do I get the tart recipe. . . I’m ready to give it the good ol’ vegan go, because it looks to good not to try:)

  6. Mike we could never be tired of your mini-tarts!! This is a beautiful tart you made. It looks perfect.

  7. […] March 22, 2011 – Honey Nut Brownies March 29, 2011 – Pecan Powder Puffs April 5, 2011 – Coffee Ice Cream Tart April 12, 2011 – Strawberry Rhubarb Double Crisp April 19, 2011 – A Tourtely Apple Tart April […]

Leave a Reply

