Tuesdays With Dorie – Chocolate Pot Du Creme

I attempted to make these as the recipe recommended, but apparently putting plastic wrap into a 300 degree oven is a BAD IDEA? The plastic wrap melted into my pots du creme, and I had to start anew.

This was made with the same water-bath idea, but with no cover. I think they turned out fine. No way of knowing whether they are like honest-to-god pots du creme because what the hell is that, but they’re edible little souffle-like things.

I also made some cupcakes for an Academy Awards party at my parents. This is Dorie’s chocolate chocolate cupcake recipe with a peanut butter frosting recipe from the Internet. I replaced the buttermilk in the cupcake recipe with regular whole milk, which I had handy, and I think this is my favorite batch of Dorie’s chocolate cupcakes that I’ve done yet. They didn’t come out quite as dense or dry as previous batches, although I’m not sure whether this was because of the milk/buttermilk swap, or because I kept a vigilant eye to avoid overbaking.

11 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Chocolate Pot Du Creme”

  1. I have been making myself laugh re-reading this line over and over: “No way of knowing whether they are like honest-to-god pots du creme because what the hell is that.” They have a long way to go before they replace the cupcake in popularity, that’s for sure.

    Also, cling wrap in an oven is just about the worst idea ever. I expected more from Dorie. Props for making them twice and persevering!

  2. My wrap melted too – but thankfully around the sides of the pan instead of into the pots. Love the cupcakes.

  3. Once at college we had to blind bake some pastry cases. Most of us lined ours with baking parchment and baking beans. One guy used plastic wrap instead, and put his baking beans on top. You can imagine the mess, right?

  4. I was also creeped out by the saran wrap and just left it off. I like the muffin papers with the monkeys..nice work.

  5. I read some of the advance comments and saw that saran wrap was not working so I covered mine with foil and poked a couple of holes in the foil. As I was posting to my blog today, (and again as I read your post) I’m reminded that this TWD crowd is a great community of bakers. It does not surprise me in the least that you felt compelled to try again after the plastic melted and that you also made cupcakes! Bravo!

  6. I used foil on mine and that seemed to work ok. They look really good!

  7. Nice job with round 2 – I probably would have thrown in the towel. Come on, Dorie – foil! The cupcakes look great too – peanut butter frosting, yum.

  8. way to go trying them a second time. perseverance!!! πŸ™‚

  9. Bummer about the saran wrap!! mm chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter frosting sound delicious!

  10. Both look fantastic – and would be great together! I used foil since plastic melts in the microwave – at least mine. Nice work on the re-do!

  11. […] 15, 2011 -Chocolate Oatmeal Drops February 22, 2011 – Toasted Almond Scones March 1, 2011 – Chocolate Pots de Creme March 8, 2011 – Corniest Corn Muffins March 15, 2011 – Citrus Currant Sunshine Muffins March […]

Leave a Reply

