Tuesdays With Dorie – Cardamom Crumb Cake

It’s nice to finally settle back down into some sort of rut. We’re about 4/5 moved out of our old place, and 1/15 unpacked in our new place, but I made sure to get all the tools and ingredients out of boxes for this one (although you’ll note our fine paper china). Boy, am I glad that I did.

This may be one of my favorite Dorie recipes yet. The cake is nice and light with all sorts of flavor. Orange, coffee/espresso, whatever the hell cardamom is. It smells floral and tastes kind of ginger-y, but it’s wonderful and I’m going to start sprinkling this stuff in everything I make from this point forward.

The move went fairly well. My amazing family pooled together and helped us move the big stuff on Saturday, and we’ve been carting stuff over slowly but surely ever since. We need to give the place a thorough cleaning, but otherwise there are very few trips left.

Our new kitchen is a bit of a ballbuster. There’s not as much counter space or cabinet space. The oven is also smaller – I can’t actually fit my baking sheet in there. Looks like I’ll need to do some shopping. I put this cake pan in without the baking sheet and it turned out fine. I’m super excited though to have an electric stove instead of gas. The temperature control on our last range was awful.

Everything else is enormous. The extra bedroom will be our office, and the extra bathroom will be our bathroom.


“It’s so hard to say goodbye to yesterday.” -Bob Marley

8 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Cardamom Crumb Cake”

  1. Great to hear that moving went well! It can be super stressful or super exciting, in my past experiences.
    You are so right – “It’s so hard to say goodbye to yesterday”. I’m terrible at it.

  2. Congrats on the new place…..you will love cooking on an electric stove….happy holidays.

  3. Glad you’re getting moved in..even if it is only 1/15 so far. πŸ™‚ I like the way your described this weeks cake. I need to make mine today.

  4. That cake looks like it should, comfort food. We enjoyed every bite. Would make this one again.

    Congrats on the move. Moving is stressful.. You deserve another cardamom cake.

  5. Thanks for making the time to bake with me this week. I’m so glad that you enjoyed the cake! Cardamom is mysterious and tasty. Good luck getting settled.

  6. I love that you just called your kitchen a ballbuster. I thought the same thing when I moved into my new place — you just expressed it better! πŸ™‚

    I’m glad you like the cake… good luck unpacking!

  7. Congrats on the new place!! Im glad you liked the cake, it looks so good!

  8. […] Maple Tuiles December 14, 2010 – Apple-Coconut Family Cake December 21, 2010 – Cardamom Crumb Cake January 4, 2011 – Midnight Crackles January 11, 2011 – Chocolate Fluff Filled […]

Leave a Reply

