Tuesdays With Dorie – Raspberry Upside-Downer

I hate doing substitutions on TWD recipes. I feel like I’m doing this to experience Dorie’s recipes, and that doesn’t include dicking around with success.

Still, I couldn’t find cranberries. Onward and upward!

It's in your heeeeead, zombie zombie zombaay-a ay-a ay-a ay-a oh-oh

I used frozen raspberries because they were cheap and, like cranberries, not super sweet. This is not my favorite TWD recipe, and may have been better with cranberries but I’m not so sure. Just not a flavor combo I’m into. Sorry gang.

7 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Raspberry Upside-Downer”

  1. oh mike, you always make me laugh. 🙂 I agree with you…I can count on one hand how many times I’ve subbed ingredients in Dorie’s recipes. I figure I make it once how she says and if I feel it needs changing I’ll do that the next time I make it.

    Sorry it wasn’t a big winner for you.

    I used peaches and raspberries.

  2. So sorry, I so want to love everything. And I did enjoy this cranberry cake.

  3. The cranberry version was delicious. I will definitely make this again soon. Raspberries sound good too.

  4. I think it looks super good and moist..sorry it didn’t razzle or dazzle you 🙂

  5. raspberries are cheap where you are? lucky!!! they are super expensive here. I did a White Peach version.

  6. Hey, some of the best recipes are made by ‘dicking around’ with the originals! 😉

  7. […] Shortbread Cookies September 7, 2010 – Peanut Butter Crisscrosses September 14, 2010 – Cranberry Upside-Downer September 21, 2010 – Coffee Break Muffins September 28, 2010 – Tarte Fine October 5, 2010 – […]

Leave a Reply

