Cookies and Cream Cupcakes with Fudge Frosting

Oh fudge

Rachel bought three cupcake books to aid us in our pre-wedding-cake experiments. Two of the books have recipes that start with “choose favorite cake mix.” These are not books that I plan on using for these experiments.

The third, infinitely better book is called “Crazy About Cupcakes” by Krystina Castella. All of the recipes are from scratch; there are over fifty cake recipes and over thirty icing/frosting recipes. The rest of the book details specific combinations, each with additional ingredients and decorating techniques to match whatever theme you’d be going for.

For hush-hush reasons, I had cause to make some cupcakes for today. With a few notable exceptions (red velvet and pink velvet), I’ve been stuck in the vanilla/chocolate cupcake vortex. It sucks you in. It’s easy, it’s familiar, and it’s boring as shit. Still, those are the likely route I’ll be going with our wedding cupcakes, so it doesn’t hurt to perfect the old standards.

We went through the recipes in this book and came up with this combination. The cookies and cream cupcake recipe is loaded with delicious whole milk and vanilla, and then packed with crushed Oreos (or Hydrox or Generic Brand Sandwich Cookies). The batter is pure white and looks exactly like a Hershey’s Cookies N Cream bar.

I ATE THIS

The cupcakes obviously colored a little darker in the oven, but they are still delicious. There’s something just slightly chewy about the consistency that isn’t particularly bad but just different.

We went with the fudge frosting recipe from this book because it was a suggested pairing in the appendix. The frosting is a ganache-type bit of business made of cream, corn syrup, sugar, chocolate, vanilla, and butter. Rachel was disappointed by this. It’s not piped on like a buttercream would be (I reckon she was expecting a chocolate buttercream frosting). She says that she couldn’t even taste it. I could actually taste the frosting and thought it worked very well, although it was a little sparse for my taste. The cupcake recipe makes 24 and even a double batch of this frosting leaves just a light coating. The rest of our taste-testers will have to be the tiebreaking vote on this one.

3 Responses to “Cookies and Cream Cupcakes with Fudge Frosting”

  1. These sound soooo good!! And I love the book Crazy About Cupcakes, if your looking to experiment take a look at Martha Stewarts Cupcake book if you haven’t already!!!

  2. My husband bought me this book and the cookies and cream recipe was the first one I made …I am a bit confused about the whole milk or regular milk though. In the beginning of the book the says “when I refer to milk I mean whole milk” …so when I look at her recipes under ingredients and I see “1 cup milk” I assume she means WHOLE milk… but today I saw that in other recipes under the ingredients she put down “1cup WHOLE milk” ….so my question is what kind of milk do I use when she says “1 cup. Milk”??
    When I made the cookies and cream cupcakes I used whole milk because of what she wrote in the beginning of the book. But now I am so confused after having looked at Other recipes. Can someone please help me.

  3. Oh nevermind lol my mother in law just explained to me that its the same thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

