Tuesdays With Dorie – Oatmeal Breakfast Bread

Here we are. Another Tuesday and another brief-but-dumb post from the ugliest foodiest dude you know.

I used raisins in this bread, although I wish I had used dried cherries or chopped up dried apricots because I’ve never really used them in baked goods and raisins are overdone. The bread is super-soft, probably due to the applesauce/oil base. Tastes great.

This post is brought to you by Wheat Thins, spray-oil, and a dirty rag!

I’m not sure if I was supposed to, but I got a nice bready crust on this. I’ve discovered that if Dorie tells me to bake something for 55-65 minutes, I should take it out at 50.

I’ve started taking blog pictures with my iPhone, which does not even provide the quality that my years-old point-and-shoot digital gives; however, it makes the process much easier.

12 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Oatmeal Breakfast Bread”

  1. yay i get to be the first to comment 🙂
    i’m pretty impressed by your phone pic quality. i wonder if my BB can do as good, lol

  2. Your bread looks good. It was quite tasty!

  3. I was thinking the same thing about using cherries. It I ever do it again, I will use something besides raisins. Maybe Craisens.

    That iPhone does amazingly well.

  4. I think you have a pretty good picture there. Nice job on the bread.

  5. Glad you liked it. The iPhone really does take a good photo. Thanks for baking with me!

  6. Your bread looks great! I really wanted to use dried cherries in mine but the ones I had were a little old and a lot tasteless. Next time …

  7. mmmmm wheat thins… i mean yummy looking bread! and i have the saaaame cooling rack that you do! try adding rum to your raisins, maybe that’ll pep em up for you 😉

  8. Your bread looks delicious and your iphone takes better pictures then I would have thought.

  9. This was such a wonderful treat-your bread looks really good!

  10. Brief…maybe. Dumb…I don’t think so. 🙂 Great looking bread!

  11. Was really moist. Looks fine to me.

  12. […] – Gingered Carrot Cookies August 10, 2010 – Chocolate Ganache Ice Cream August 17, 2010 – Oatmeal Breakfast Bread August 24, 2010 – Crunchy and Custardy Peach Tart August 31, 2010 – Espresso Chocolate […]

Leave a Reply

