Tuesdays With Dorie – Tender Shortcakes

I’m not 100% sure how these can be tender. It’s not a chunk of meat, and it’s not love for Elvis. It’s a cake.

It’s pretty good. As you can see, my sloppy presentation this week is related to cutting the cake in half. I filled it with raspberries and blueberries but you couldn’t really taste them between the buttery cake and the homemade whipped cream.

I decided to freeze the other eight and save them for rainy days. I hope it rains a lot soon.

12 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Tender Shortcakes”

  1. Took me a second on that last sentence. LOL. I’m thinking raspberries would be really good with these.

  2. Im glad you liked them .The whipped topping looks wonderful nestled in between those two lovely cakes.

  3. I hope it rains soon too. I have several tucked away in my freezer. What a delicious dessert. Butter and heavy whipping is a great place to start!

  4. Great job on the shortcakes!

  5. There’s definitely a fine balance between the cake, cream, and fruit… hard to achieve, though. Yours look delish!

  6. those are perfect! put more fruit in there–then you’ll taste it.

  7. I agree…more fruit!! Nice job.

  8. None of my extra shortcakes even made it to the freezer; it’s been raining everyday lately in Seattle!

  9. Seriously, between the shortcakes and fresh whipped cream, the fruit is kind of beside the point. Looks fantastic! Thanks so much for baking along with me this week.

  10. Be careful what you wish for. Fruit, biscuits and cream. How can you beat that.

  11. […] 2010 – Banana Coconut Ice Cream Pie June 1, 2010 – White Chocolate Brownies June 8, 2010 – Tender Shortcakes June 15, 2010 – Raisin Swirl Bread June 22, 2010 – Dressy Chocolate Loaf Cake June 29, 2010 – […]

Leave a Reply

