Tuesdays With Dorie – Banana Coconut Ice Cream Pie

When I heard this was with chocolate ice cream (which is objectively the worst flavor of ice cream), I thought it would be bad news. When I saw that the crust was made up of coconut, butter, and crumbled up cookies (I used Pecan Sandies), I thought it sounded ridiculous. When I tasted the dang ol’ pie?

BLAM. Flavor explosion. It shouldn’t work on so many levels, but it works on all of those levels. The crust solidifies and becomes crunchy; the cloying, awful sweetness of the chocolate ice cream is offset by the far different cloying, awful sweetness of the bananas. Whatever. Whatevs. It works. Pecan sandies.

I won’t spoil the finale of LOST for anybody (although presumably everybody who cares has probably already seen it), but I will say that I found it a beautiful end to a great journey, and I find it very hard to find fault at all with the episode. Of course, I’ve never really cared about the answers to mysteries, so take that for what it is.

I’m not going to get a chance to watch the 24 finale until Saturday, so watch your spoiler-filled mouths or I will go Jack Bauer on you and leave your banana-coconut-ice-cream-pie-filled bowels scattered all over the ground of a Manhattan warehouse.

12 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Banana Coconut Ice Cream Pie”

  1. Flavor explosion? Yes, that’s a good description. I decided not to use chocolate for the reason you cited but maybe I should have.

  2. I loved this dessert and I don’t love bananas! The crust was excellent.

  3. At last someone who added the bananas. They look interesting frozen but I didn’t try them.

  4. It looks good! Im glad you liked it.

  5. Whatevs! Glad it worked out for you in the end!

  6. Chocolate and bananas are a fabulous couple. And I’m with you on Lost. It was disappointing and satisifying at the same time, I think the disappointment stems from my sadness over Tuesdays feeling empty.

    I won’t give away the 24 finale! 😉

  7. Ciao ! I learned to trust Dorie more than my prejudices ! I love your slice !

  8. What a great post! I needed a smile right now. Glad you liked the pie!

  9. It was the crust!! The whole thing lingered on the crust! And the pie wasn’t bad either.

    Lost? Lost what??

  10. Great job on the pie! I tried it once as written and didn’t like it with the chocolate ice cream so I redid it.

  11. good call on the pecan sandies! i loved the LOST finale, too. i’m not into 24, tho, so hopefully my inards will remain intact.

  12. […] 11, 2010 – Quick Classic Berry Tart May 18, 2010 – Apple-Apple Bread Pudding May 25, 2010 – Banana Coconut Ice Cream Pie June 1, 2010 – White Chocolate Brownies June 8, 2010 – Tender Shortcakes June 15, 2010 – […]

Leave a Reply

