Tuesdays With Dorie REWIND – Marshmallows

I have been so excited to try this recipe. Rachel’s sister made homemade marshmallows for her daughters’ baptism and they were amazing.

Mine…

Terribly disappointed. The gelatin and sugary-meringue mix became separate, leaving me with a super-sticky white layer and a firm, Jell-O-ish layer of sewage-brown nothingness. They taste fine, but definitely nothing I could share (which was the intention of this Thursday night experiment). Probably because I didn’t have a candy thermometer so I eyeballed it, but…damn.

Will try another recipe some day. Until then…tears.

3 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie REWIND – Marshmallows”

  1. Aawww 😦 Poor marshmallows. Sorry this recipe didn’t do it for you. I seem to remember from the P&Q: Marshmallows that TWDers were kinda split on it too. So you’re in good company, eh? What recipe did Rachel’s sister use? And don’t be a cheap a$$! Get yourself a candy thermometer. HA HA

  2. susan in fl Says:

    I don’t know what Dorie’s recipie is but I found this on the web and I swear my hubby won’t eat store bought any more. As a matter of fact he makes his own. Not sure how to make it click able here.

    http://homesteadinghousewife.blogspot.com/2008/12/homemade-marshmallows.html

  3. […] is the second time I’ve tried this recipe, and the results were EH (unlike last time, where the results were […]

Leave a Reply

