Beef Pot Roast

I received Edmonds Cookery Book from Shara, my secret santa this year from a group of friends. This book has been part of New Zealand’s heritage since 1879, and now it’s been entrusted to me, a fat-skinny kid from Pennsylvania, USA.

Very juicy and very good – it tasted like something you’d get at a restaurant, which is just tremendous to me since I made it out of such simple ingredients. A little fatty, but that probably had more to do with my choice of meat so I won’t deduct points from the recipe.

I served this with some mashed potatoes (my first ever mashed potatoes, skins on, boiled in chicken stock instead of water – a little hint I learned from my future brother-in-law, if I remember correctly). Also, broccoli, which is our standard go-to green side-dish.

Beef Pot Roast (Edmonds Cookery Book)

1 tablespoon oil
1 kg piece beef topside, trimmed
32g packet onion soup mix
1 cup liquid beef stock
1 bay leaf
1 tablespoon Edmonds Fielder’s cornflour (corn starch)
1 tablespoon water
1 tablespoon whole grain mustard

Heat the oild in a large saucepan. Add the meat and brown well on all sides. Remove meat from pan and pour off fat. Return meat to pan. In a bowl, combine soup mix and stock. Pour this over the meat. Add bay leaf. Cover, bring to the boil, reduce heat and simmer gently for 3 hours or until meat is tender. Check liquid level from time to time, adding a little water if necessary. Remove bay leaf. In a bowl, combine cornflour and water, mixing until smooth. Remove meat from pan. Add cornflour mixture to pan. Bring to the boil, stirring constantly until mixture thickens. Add mustard. Serve with sliced meat. If wished, potato and carrot can be added to the pan 30 minutes before end of cooking time. Serves 8.

Leave a Reply

