Tuesdays With Dorie – Cocoa-Buttermilk Birthday Cake

Happy second anniversary, Tuesdays With Dorie!

With the spirit of Harvey Dent in mind, we celebrate the second anniversary with our choice from two desserts (presumably with twins at the Second National Bank). The other recipe is Tarte Tatin. I had toyed with the idea of baking both things this week. When I saw that I didn’t have all the necessary equipment for the Tarte, I put it on the backburner; when I couldn’t find puff pastry at the grocery store, I decided against the idea entirely.

So we’re left with cocoa-buttermilk birthday cake, decked out in chocolate malt buttercream icing. I don’t have an icing decorating set, and my previous method of “plastic bag with hole in the corner” has not produced aesthetically satisfactory results, so I just spread the icing on and called it a night.

It’s very chocolatey – almost overwhelmingly so. I had at least a quarter of my buttercream left, which is frozen in a block right next to my meringue buttercream from June 2009 and will probably never be used.

Still, es bueno. Es very bueno.

Happy birthday, Tuesdays With Dorie.

Oh, and your eyes are not deceiving you – my cake IS that lopsided.

10 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Cocoa-Buttermilk Birthday Cake”

  1. Looks good to me. I prefer lopsided cake. Gives it more character. Thanks for baking along with me! xo

  2. I made the tarte.

    Your cake looks wonderful.

  3. There’s nothing wrong with lopsided cake!

  4. Tastes the same, straight or lopsided!

  5. Yum Im thinking I need a slice right now!

  6. Yum! It looks perfect. Nice thick layer of frosting!

  7. Brown Moses Says:

    My mouth is watering- get the drool bucket!

  8. Looks just fine to me.

  9. […] cakes are Dorie’s cocoa buttermilk birthday cake recipe. Looks a little bit nicer than the first time I made it, […]

  10. […] Chocolate Cheesecake January 5, 2010 – Tarte Tatin – RIGHT HERE, DUMMY – AND, Cocoa-Buttermilk Birthday Cake January 12, 2010 – Mrs. Vogel’s Scherben January 19, 2010 – Chocolate Oatmeal Almost-Candy […]

Leave a Reply

