Tuesdays With Dorie – Sablés

These are great. Buttery and crumbly and flaky. I have half a mind to make the Parmesan Sablés next. I think this cookie would be amazing as a savory.

How do you pronounce this word? I had assumed it was “SAY-bulls.” However, there’s that troublesome accent mark above the “e.” “sah-BLAZE?” “say-BLEES?” Help! Help! I’m from America!

7 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Sablés”

  1. Sah-Blayz is how it is pronounced.

    Yours look great.

  2. LOL Love all your pronunciations. Even though I know how to pronounce them, I still call them SAY-bulls

    LOL

  3. Yeah, I’m a say-bulls kinda gal myself. I think the savory ones sounded mighty tempting, too.

  4. Thank you for baking along with me this week!

    They’re mighty good however you pronounce them! (“A sablé by other name would taste as sweet” maybe?)

  5. I hope you’re not planning to put them in with the dog biscuits! They look delicious.

  6. do make the parmesan–they are so good! glad you like the sah-blaze. don’t feed them to the puppy, though, or you’ll have a mess to clean up!

  7. […] Holiday Bundt Cake December 1, 2009 – Rosy Poached Pear and Pistachio Tart December 8, 2009 – Sables December 15, 2009 – Cafe Volcano Cookies December 22, 2009 – My Favorite Pecan Pie December 29, […]

Leave a Reply

