Tuesdays With Dorie – Cinnamon Squares

When Dorie tells you to use parchment paper on the bottom of your cake pan, do it.

Look at that.  Look at that crap.

I was going to put the chocolate icing on it, but frankly I like it better in its current state.  I can offer it to friends and family; “Come, brother, and feast upon a fistful of cake, for tomorrow we die.”

This is my best attempt to pretty it up.

12 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Cinnamon Squares”

  1. It doesn’t matter if it’s pretty as long as it’s yummy! If you forget to use parchment next time, get a towel and wet with hot water. Then wrap the bottom of your cake for a few minutes..(5 maybe?). It will come out of the pan easier!

  2. OMG you are hilarious! Mine was a flop too, so you aren’t alone. It did smell Heavenly, but something went wrong with mine. Amazingly, my ribbon didn’t sink LOL

  3. Bwahahahah!

    I didn’t parchment it…but I also didn’t take it out of the pan either.

    Great job.

  4. Ouch! I hope you and your friends enjoyed it.

  5. I would happily eat a fistful of your cake. Too funny.

  6. Mine suffered the same fate. I’m so glad to read your adventure today!!

  7. The line about “feasting up on a fistful of cake” made me laugh out loud! Love it!

  8. Thanks for baking with me this week. Your post is hilarious. I’ve learned the lesson of the parchment paper the hard way too!

  9. This was the funniest post!! I totally laughed out loud all by myself! I want to be able to steal your line some day, “Come, brother, and feast upon a fistful of cake, for tomorrow we die.” SOO FUNNY! 😀

  10. hey mike.. – your blog makes me hungry.. – don’t know if you still follow LJ, so, thought i’d directly point you towards RtW as we just uploaded a five-party energy drink challenge video.. – good times!

  11. LOL! Love your post! It is like “this is your brain on drugs” meets “this is your cake without parchment.” Sorry this happened to you, but it does look very tasty!!

  12. […] Tart May 19, 2009 – Fresh Mango Bread May 26, 2009 – Chipster-Topped Brownies June 2, 2009 – Cinnamon Squares June 9, 2009 – Parisian Apple Tartlet June 16, 2009 – Honey-Peach Ice Cream June 23, 2009 – […]

Leave a Reply

