Tuesdays With Dorie – TEN BANANA CREME PIES

Okay, just one banana creme pie.

I went through hell and back to make this pie.  My stand-mixer beaters got bent out of shape in last week’s baking marathon (note to self:  do not use wooden spoons to push dough into moving beaters).  My food processor is kaput (overuse).  I ran all over town to find a functional replacement for these things (er…a cheap one, as dictated by bills).  In the end, I picked up a $15 hand mixer and squeezed the last drops of life out of my food processor.

About ten minutes into doughmaking, I had decided to quit.  Instead, I went against all of Dorie’s dough rules and kneaded the pie crust with my hand, skipping the rolling process, and just pushed it into my pie plate.

I am so glad I persisted.  This was awesome; definitely among my top five Dorie Desserts.  Boner appetit, everyone.

6 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – TEN BANANA CREME PIES”

  1. Way to push through to the end!

  2. As soon as I read the title, all I could picture was that baker falling down the stairs with all of his pies. 🙂

    I’ve used a food processor exactly once to make pie dough, and I hated it. I use my hands as well. I am definitely going to try your “push” method next time I make a pie. It looks good!

  3. Way to go! Looks like your pie turned out great in the end!

  4. Seems Murphy was in your kitchen this week. Sorry you had such a bad time. Pushed pastry. It’s a whole new concept. Pie looks just fine to me.

  5. Your pie looks great! I almost threw in the towel with this one too, but I persisted. And I’m glad I did too. It was very good. Nice job!

  6. […] March 24, 2009 – Blueberry Crumb Cake March 31, 2009 – Coconut Butter Thins April 7, 2009 – Banana Creme Pie April 14, 2009 – 15 Minute Magic: Chocolate Amaretti Torte April 21, 2009 – Four Star Chocolate […]

Leave a Reply

