Tuesdays With Dorie – Floating Islands

When I saw this week’s recipe, I was reminded of the show Lost.  Floating islands!  Mysterious smoke monsters!  Crazy French women!

Also like Lost, this week’s recipe makes no sense.

It’s basically scrambled eggs plus sugar.  The surefire diabetes breakfast treat.  And it’s gross and pretty terrible.

My first custard attempt curdled in the pan.

My second attempt was slightly better.  Then, I friggin’ soft-boiled some meringue egg islands.  They were disgusting.

Don’t ever make this recipe.  Please continue watching Lost every Wednesday on ABC.

10 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Floating Islands”

  1. Ooops. Sorry you didn’t like this one. Ah well.

  2. Lost has me so totally undone.

    I want to scream every time I watch it, but it sucks me in.

  3. Yeah, mine didn’t work out too well either. But last week was World Peace Cookies, and next week is that amazing-looking cake, so all is right with the world!

  4. Oh good lord. I’m so happy I didn’t try this one. And you watch Lost? I can’t get five minutes into it. And they butcher Latin.

  5. sorry you didn’t like this one. lost has started off so good this season, last weeks episode was especially good.

  6. Hahahah wow. So tell us how you really feel? Hahah great post! Hysterical!

  7. This is my favorite TWD post of this week :)I love your concise displeasure with this recipe. I guess we all have to endure a good ole’ fail every once in a while. Great post.

  8. I’m one episode behind on Lost. I can’t believe I didn’t even think of the show when we got this recipe.

    Too bad it didn’t turn out for you.

  9. Scrambled eggs with sugar – yuck! I agree. Lost is good tho. Thanks for trying them this week, though!

  10. […] Ginger and Chocolate Gingerbread February 3, 2009 – World Peace Cookies February 10, 2009 – Floating Islands February 17, 2009 – Devils Food White Out Cake February 24, 2009 – Caramel Crunch Bars March 3, […]

Leave a Reply

