Rachel and Mike Present: The Togetherness Blog

When I was in second grade, I had a tough time learning to spell “together.”  Then one day, my classmate Ryan raised his little hand and said, “It’s actually three words.  TO.  GET.  HER.”  And I never forgot it again.

When I was in second grade, there were two Mikes in my class.  Myself, of course, and Mike O.  I hated Mike O.  He was a jerk and another Mike.  Halfway through the year, he moved away, and I announced to the class that I was the only Mike.  Come to think of it, Mike O. probably wasn’t that much of a jerk.

When I was in third grade, I was too shy to raise my hand to ask to go to the bathroom, so I held it in all day.  All year.  I had several bladder infections, and my mom did a lot of laundry.

When I was in third grade, I did a lot of “holdin’ it.”  One day, I had to stand at “the wall” for recess, because I had given the teacher some sassmouth.  While I was there, I had to go to the bathroom, and I went.  One of the teacher’s aides walked by and shook their head:  “Aw, Michael.”  I’m still not sure whether she was disappointed that I got in trouble, or because I peed myself.

When I was in fourth grade, I had a backpack with a big, pink clock on it.  The kid behind me always knew what time it was.

When I was in fourth grade, I moved to a new school.  My teacher’s name was Ms. Butler.  I wonder if her first name was Jeeves.

When I was in fifth grade, my parents got divorced, and my best friend thought I was lying about it.  Oh, I just made myself sad.

When I was in fifth grade, I claimed to write a poem, and my parents thought I had plagiarized it.  They were right, of course.

4 Responses to “Rachel and Mike Present: The Togetherness Blog”

  1. Dude. When I was in 6th grade I laughed so hard at recess that I peed my pants. I tried to hide it with my National Spelling Bee wordlist. Turns out this story is a melding of two examples of my extreme grade school dorkage.

  2. I know someone who crapped in his pants at camp

  3. Dude, may I consider this another meme to play along with? Your posts never fail to make me smile, then think, then get depressed for a while, then smile again.

Leave a Reply

