Tuesdays With Dorie – Savory Corn and Pepper Muffins

THESE ARE YUMMO.

And the best part is:  nobody I know in the world would even dare to put these things in their mouths.  Twelve delicious muffins just for me.  Corn, jalapeno pepper, red bell pepper, chili powder, and fresh chopped cilantro.  It’s a nice break from my sickeningly sweet Tuesdays With Diabete.

I was pleased with how little “heat” you can actually taste.  While I like hot peppers, it really takes a back seat and merely accents the cornbread.  They’re moist in the center, and a total victory after the mild disappointment that was Pumpkin Muffins.

If I did these again in the future, I would definitely put more corn in there.  Finding mysterious hunks of corn is the best.

I’m writing this on Monday, and hoping I can figure out how to hold this post until Tuesday.  If not…patience, friends.  I am not the most WordPress-savvy individual.

22 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Savory Corn and Pepper Muffins”

  1. Hahahaha this group should totally be called “Tuesdays with Diabetes”. I’m going to have to cheat a little and taste these muffins… they’ve gotten rave reviews!

  2. Glad you liked them. They really look great.

  3. Hi, I just found your site. Where are the recipes?
    Thanks!

  4. Hey Carolyn-

    My current food-blogging fascination is Tuesdays With Dorie (http://tuesdayswithdorie.wordpress.com). The recipes are available in Dorie Greenspan’s book “Baking: From My Home To Yours,” as well as the websites of the people that choose the recipe each week. This week’s recipe should be available at http://www.ezrapoundcake.com/ sometime today.

  5. Thanks for your quick response! I can’t wait to get the recipe and try it.

  6. I’m glad you liked them! Your muffins look great.

  7. Your muffins look great! I’m so jealous yours came out moist. Nice job 🙂

  8. Your muffins look fantastic! I loved these too and will likely make them again and again!

  9. I think your muffins look perfect!

  10. why would you say no one you know would put these in their mouths? They were great. I think yours look wonderful. Great job dude!

  11. People in my life don’t eat things w/ flavor. That’s all. People at work devoured them.

  12. those sound incredible! i love things that have heat that you wouldn’t expect..

  13. Thanks, Brian! I’ve been loving your new video content!

  14. Had to do something savory. We were dying of The Shugah over here.

  15. Looks great! I had them all to myself too – because I was sick and didn’t want to be Typhoid Food Librarian! Great job!

  16. Tuesdays with Diabetes–ain’t that the truth?!? i wish i had these muffins all to myself, too!

  17. Those muffins look good enough to eat! Nice work.

  18. LMFAO @ Tuesdays w/ Diabetes. Totally janking that line for my next TWD post. I have no idea how I’ll incorporate it but somehow I will. HAHA. I agree with adding more corn. I needed more corn chunks. Definitely better with more chunks. Why does that sentence sound wrong though? 😉
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  19. […] 30, 2008 – Tall and Creamy Cheesecake January 6, 2009 – French Pear Tart January 13, 2009 – Savory Corn and Pepper Muffins January 20, 2009 – Berry Surprise Cake January 27, 2009 – Fresh Ginger and Chocolate […]

  20. […] savory corn and pepper muffins (using a green bell pepper given to me by a coworker). I’ve made this before and liked […]

Leave a Reply

