Tuesdays With Dorie – French Pear Tart, or “Tarts and Crafts”

THINGS ABOUT THE FRENCH PEAR TART

1) I could not find a properly-sized tart pan, so I made four mini-tarts instead.
2) I am the world’s worst fruit-chopper, and so every tart ended up with two massive hunks of crazy pear.
3) Rachel (another kind of tart) proclaims that the pear tart is “the best thing [I’ve] made yet.”

Pictures forthcoming eventually, but not sure if it’ll be today.

Since I made last week’s cheesecake-related post, I have accomplished exactly Nothing in unpacking or putting together the apartment. Blame it on the holidays if you want, but I’m going to stick a thumbtack of plain, old laziness in it.

In lieu of finishing our move, last weekend was a movie weekend. We watched Tropic Thunder, The Pianist, Valkyrie, Wagons East, Timecop, Bolt in 3D, The Incredible Hulk, and The Signal. With possible exception of Wagons East, which was just okay, the rest were pretty great. I especially recommend Timecop, especially if you are in the mood to see people get TIMECOPPED, or maybe just some neat splits of the non-banana variety. Click on the “Ugly Movies” link at right for slightly more detailed reviews, or do something else with your time! It’s a beautiful day! Etc!

6 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – French Pear Tart, or “Tarts and Crafts””

  1. I agree, these tarts were fantastic!

  2. This was a great recipe. Can’t wait to see your pics.

  3. Glad you and Rachel liked it. I thought it was delicious and will def make it again. Cant wait to see pics!

    Now get to unpacking boy!

  4. LOL @ Rachel (the other kind of tart). Rachel, are you gonna let him say that about you? He gets a punch or something right? HAHA. Get some tart pics stat. (Not Rachel. The tart tart. Just wanted to clarify.) I wanna see your mini tarts. I bet they are very cute.
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  5. can’t wait to see the crazy pear photos. and how did tropic thunder only get 7 stars? that’s clearly a 10-star movie!

  6. Pictures are coming soon, I hope. I took them on Rachel’s camera, and she hasn’t yet explained the secret of uploading.

    As for Tropic Thunder…eh. It was good, certainly (especially Downey), but there were a few things that didn’t cotton for me. I’m not a huge Ben Stiller fan, and I wish Stiller would have played against type like everyone else. He was pretty much Derek Zoolander through the entire movie. I found myself interested in Alpa Chino, but he didn’t receive an awful lot of screen time. Tom Cruise was great, but I may be in the minority that thinks there was TOO MUCH (especially the dancing scenes). So there’s that. Still, pretty good.

Leave a Reply

