Tuesdays With Dorie – Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes

CHOCOLATE CHOCOLATE CHOCOLATE ACK!

CHOCOLATE CHOCOLATE CHOCOLATE ACK!

So I don’t know. Once again, I’m left with something that isn’t all that special. Pretty dry and not great. I actually baked them for less time than recommended, and until the very moment a knife came out cleanly. I don’t know what else to do, and I’m ready for a non-cake-item next week. It’s almost embarrassing to take these into work tomorrow, knowing that they aren’t all that tremendously good. I’ll have to deal with all those patronizing looks: “Oh, look, the man tried to bake something;” “Oh, I swear, it’s really, really, really good;” etc. Still, what else am I going to do with the remaining 21 cupcakes (I doubled the recipe in anticipation of tremendous success)?

Halloween’s a-comin’, and here’s my first of two costumes.Β  This was for my friend Belinda’s “rock n’ roll” themed party.Β  I was the master of vocal and drum-related Rock Band gamin’.

Lookin slick

Lookin slick with my bulgin pockets.

27 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes”

  1. Sorry you didn’t like them.

    They look great.

  2. Do what I do – bring it in to work and don’t tell anyone it was you. Skulk around like that until you hear a positive review, and then proclaim proudly that you made them. Works every time πŸ™‚

  3. Dang. That’s a lot of cupcakes. You better do what Caitlin says. That’s a lot of cupcakes.

  4. At least they look yummy…. And I like Caitlin’s advice as well.

  5. But they look good!!! And next week isn’t a cake! πŸ™‚

  6. Ohh Caitlin is right! Just don’t say you made them unless someone likes them. OR put a note next to them saying someone you don’t like made them πŸ™‚

  7. Bummer, I’m sorry to read you didn’t like ’em.
    On another note, I sometimes wondered why your blog tittle called for ugly food, when it is often pretty good looking… and now, I wonder why the author calls himself an ugly dude, when any guy who looks good in such a wig (it is a wig right!? LOL) …is far from being ugly in my book!

  8. Perhaps a really big trifle with the chocolate cupcakes? Liked the costume πŸ™‚

  9. LOL, I go with Caitlin’s suggestion.

  10. sad… mine were better the next day, so maybe that will happen to yours?
    i usually stop baking when there are still a few crumbs on the tester.

  11. Sorry they weren’t your favorite. Mine were dry but I forgot to add the buttermilk! I love the wig!

  12. They look delicious! I would go with Caitlin’s suggestion also. Love the wig – sort of Howard Sternish?

  13. Dude… love the wig. Really! Gives you a whole different look. Sorry you didn’t like the cupcakes – they look good though πŸ™‚ I didn’t even bother this week – I couldn’t handle the thought of making more chocolate cupcakes… even FOR my coworkers! LOL. Have a great day πŸ™‚

  14. I was not really overly impressed with these either, but my students gobbled these up…Nice bulging pockets! πŸ˜‰

  15. Rockin Halloween costume! Im glad you tried the cc even if you weren’t thrilled with them. I had fun decorating my cc with some spider webs..I didn’t think I could do it!

  16. I think the costume would look even better if you were holding a tray of those cupcakes, hee hee. Sorry they weren’t your fave.

  17. Bummer the cupcakes weren’t your favorite. You can do what I do. I bring stuff to work and if they get eaten awesome. If not then I won’t have to be the one that throws them away. Throwing away baked goods makes me sad so I’d rather someone else did it when I am not around. PS. You are so rocking that wig. HAHA. Makes me wanna throw up the rocker hand sign. Ugh… whats that called? Brain fart! Thanks for baking with me this week!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  18. It seems like these cupcakes worked great for some people and horribly for (most of the) others- who knows what the deal was?! That costume is marvelous! haha, sadly, my husband is in a heavy metal band and I know people who really look like that on days other than Halloween!

  19. I LOVE your costume! And I didn’t get all hot and bothered by the cupcakes, either. Kind of disappointing.

  20. Bummer about the dry cupcakes. Mine were dry, too. If your work is anything like mine, people have very low standards and will like them anyway. Rock on!

  21. oh shit–well, sometimes coworkers are kind of dumb and don’t notice. nice wig and tat!

  22. Bring them to work. The people with whom I work will eat anything. And I mean anything…

    You are looking fierce in that wig. Flat stomach, good arms, very rock star. Do you think rock stars care about dry cupcakes?

  23. I think what is especially badass is that flower tat on your arm. Rockin!

  24. I love Caitlin’s suggestion. She’s one clever lady.

    You look great as a rock star!

  25. Here’s the thing about shitty cupcakes – nobody cares. They’re cupcakes. Even the bad ones are still better than NOT having cupcakes. I have a friend who makes possibly the worst cheesecake ever. I mean, this stuff is foul. But….we’re all still excited when she brings it on over, because it’s better than the No Cheesecake alternative!!!!

  26. […] is taking a little break from new recipes and encouraging people to make old favorites. I made the chocolate cupcakes, which is convenient because Rachel volunteered me to make cupcakes for a party at work. Also […]

  27. […] 14, 2008 – Lenox Almond Biscotti October 21, 2008 – Pumpkin Muffins October 28, 2008 – Chocolate-Chocolate Cupcakes November 4, 2008 – Rugelach November 11, 2008 – Kugelhopf November 18, 2008 – Arborio Rice […]

Leave a Reply

