Tuesdays With Dorie – Pumpkin Muffins (and a drawing)

Fugly.

A GLOWING PIECE OF THE RADICAL ROCK: THE AGRO-CRAG! Also, fugly muffins.

I made two batches of this week’s Pumpkin Muffins (one with the sunflower seed topping and one without). I have to say, they may be my least favorite of the Dorie recipes I’ve tried thus far. They taste good. However, there’s nothing outstanding there that urges me to make them again. Definitely taste muffiny. Kind of taste pumpkiny. Not as moist as some of my favorite muffins. I don’t know.

Anything else interesting to note? Well, I didn’t have to take either batch to the full 25 minutes. They were done around 20 and probably could have stood to come out a little earlier. My sunflower-seedless muffins (not pictured) were a lot fuller and prettier, as I didn’t sample nearly as much batter in the second go-round.

What else is new?

I’ve becoming more and more open with people lately.  I think my new job is a main contributor, and more to the point my good friend/new coworker Derek Orion Shugar and the cavalcade of debauchery known as his family.  I’ve been getting social every day now for a while, and it’s opening me up to become an actual person instead of some mopey ideal or lacking wisp of humanity.

I guess this can be a good thing or a bad thing, depending on how much you liked me back in high school and early college.  I was a bit of an ass.  I tended (and now, tend) to get a bit talkative, and probably annoying.  In the end, I’ll take it.  It’s better than starving myself.

I’m really beginning to feel feelings again, too.  Over the past five years or so, they’ve been few and far-between.  I mean, they’ve always been there.  I KNEW what made me happy and made me sad, but I never really felt the little endorphin push behind it.  I was pretty blase about everything.  Now I’m happy when I’m happy (which is pleasantly often), sad when I’m sad, and angry when I’m etc.  By introducing a little bit of chaos to my life, I feel like I’m conquering mental illness.

What an embarrassing post.  I’m sincerely glad that I’m not shaming myself in front of people who actually know me.

Here’s a little drawing I made called “M.D. Hammer.” Relive the early 1990’s!

Stop!  Hammertime!

Stop! Hammertime!

19 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Pumpkin Muffins (and a drawing)”

  1. Whoa, that’s a rollercoaster of a post! Sorry you weren’t a huge fan of the muffins, yay for feelings (talking is a good thing too, as is being social), and laughter for MD Hammer… Stop! Hammertime!

  2. Do you like white chocolate? If you do and you get the urge to make a 3rd batch of pumpkin muffins, I say skip the raisins, nuts and sunflower seeds and use white chocolate chips. 3 words. So.Freaking.Good. PS. I can bust out a haiku for you if you need a pick me up 😉
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  3. haha. your cartoon reminds me of Dr. Acula 🙂
    your muffins are so not fugly! sorry you didnt love them… just hope for better next week!

  4. Wha? You didn’t think they were aces? Because I thought they were just aces. mmm…

  5. I didn’t think they were the best either, and I know I won’t be making them again. They were good though.

  6. first, i completely agree with you about these being ok but not more. i said the same thing. and what a nice (if unusual for you) set of transitions you’re making, open to people and experiencing your emotions. i don’t think it’s an embarrassing post to read, it made me want to give you a cup of coffee and a muffin. 🙂

  7. you had me going with the muffins AND A DRAWING. My head was thinking woo hoo a giveaway. Wrong! You can see how totally selfish I am. 🙂 However, I loved your drawing of MC Hammer. Cute. I’m glad you are getting happy and having happy feelings! And your muffins look great. I loved them, but sorry you did not.

  8. Wow, Mike Spoodles! I laughed, I cried, it was better than (virtual) Cats! Any post that references MC Hammer (please Hammer, don’t hurt ’em) is okay in my book, child of the 80s that I am. Sorry you didn’t like the muffins.

  9. Ha ha ha. You crack me up. Sorry these weren’t your favorite muffin, but the do look nice!

  10. Nice looking muffins. Silly comic. Good on social and emotional growth. See what cooking and baring your soul to a bunch of online strangers can do!

  11. Yay for pumpkin muffins! I made a second batch with chocolate chips….very good that way 🙂

  12. Feeling actual feelings is a very dangerous road down which to begin. Be careful with that. I find that casual bouts of alcohol numbing slow the progression and make for a smoother ride.

    Now, as for your comic (which was very funny) I have an entirely true, no bullshit, swear to God story for you.

    About 2 years ago, I found this comic and it made me laugh so hard I almost puked. I was born in ’82, so the timing is priceless. Go view it: http://xkcd.com/210/

    Now, I had posted this comic on my MySpace page under “about me.” After a few weeks of this, I got a random email from some guy telling me it was hilarious, and he had clicked on my picture because he liked something about me. I call it “my second x chromosome.” He then saw the comic, and felt compelled to tell me how awesome it was. I wrote back a smart-assed reply, and a slew of emails progressed from that one, single comic. The moral of this story is that I am marrying that guy in May.

    Do you see how similar the two comics are? You’re basically responsible for my lack of spinsterhood by proxy.

  13. Oh, Mike, you make me laugh. People who talk too much are high on my list of favorites. It’s the quiet ones that make me nervous. I’m sure I would have like you in high school, college, and even preschool.

  14. I felt the same way, dude. They were good but nothing exceptionally rave-worthy. I did like the batter a heckuva lot though! LOL

  15. glad to hear you’re feeling better, bud.. – being social is great, too.. i taught myself to at least act confident (even when on occasion i’m totally not) when out in the real world, communicating with people, etc. and it really helped me.. – many of the world’s marvels (and free to boot!) for us personally will come as a result of interpersonal communications, sometimes even with complete strangers..

  16. Too bad these didn’t knock your socks off — better luck with some other recipes!

    Speaking as someone who spent a long time trying not to feel much of anything because she was so depressed, yeah, feeling is better even if you have to go through the bad parts. I send you good wishes on your journey to better mental health.

  17. Life, I’ve learned, is definitely a process. We may not all start out in the same place, but as long as we’re moving forward, that’s all that matters. There is nothing I respect more that honesty. That and a sense of humor, the ability to cook some decent comfort food when life sucks, and a sense of perspective is sometimes all it takes to make it through. I know it’s worked for me!

  18. Hey, lots of progress on lots of fronts – including admitting that baked goods are ho hum. I thought the muffins were fine, but nowhere as good as my usual (recipe on my post) pumpkin goodness. Keep on keeping on.

  19. […] Caramel Peanut Topped Brownie Cake October 14, 2008 – Lenox Almond Biscotti October 21, 2008 – Pumpkin Muffins October 28, 2008 – Chocolate-Chocolate Cupcakes November 4, 2008 – Rugelach November 11, 2008 […]

Leave a Reply

