Tuesdays With Dorie: Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chipsters

Yesterday did not seem like Monday, so I almost forgot to do my baking.  It just seemed like a little extra slice of Sunday.  Luckily, common sense prevailed and I put myself to work baking Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chipsters.

These cookies, they are good.

After my previous disaster run of cookies (the tremendous Granola Grabbers), I was very careful not to burn the Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chipsters, and I still had time to watch Killer Klowns From Outer Space in the meantime.  Nothing of real incidence to note, except that every ingredient was already in my pantry or refrigerator.  No multiple last-minute grocery runs this week, and as such it was fairly stress free.   Everything came together nicely.  I got exactly sixty cookies out of the batch (as the great and wonderful Dorie predicted in her bakebook), and not a one of them came out badly (although a few came out a little too “eaten” to share; oops).

Ten went to my girlfriend’s house to share with family.  Ten went with my sister to share at school.  Five went to my friend Brad for introducing me to sushi and sashimi yesterday afternoon.  Five went to my friend Kelly who has waited long enough to get a taste of this sweet, sweet TWD gold.  Fifteen went to the office for coworker stress binges.  Finally, fifteen stayed at home for my family and/or belly.

Coming soon:  I’ve been reading a cookbook called Eat, Shrink & Be Merry by Janet & Greta Podleski.  A review of the material and some recipe tests are in the cards, and I’ll be sharing my home-cooking adventures.  I hope you enjoy it when it comes.

26 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chipsters”

  1. Looking good dude! Glad your cookies were enjoyed by all. Great job!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  2. Your pawning off method is wonderfully mathematical. Very nicely done.

  3. Nice job on the cookies! Wow, that was very precise. I made a half batch. I have no idea how many cookies I got. Some got eaten. Some are left. I can’t work that hard. 😉

  4. Here I thought that my husband was just ‘kidding’ about Killer Clowns from Outerspace….Oh…Lord!

    I think I ate way to much dough.

  5. I’m with you. . I kept thinking yesterday was Sunday and I would bake on Monday! But my brain finally caught up with the calendar and I made my cookies. Yours look great, as always.

  6. With my first half-batch I got exactly 30 cookies. With the second, I only got 28. I think I ate too much dough out of the second batch… =)

  7. I got 54 cookies, so close enough for me. I love how you distributed them. TWD makes it easy to be generous. Your photographs are getting downright professional looking, btw.

  8. it’s good to be your friend! great looking cookies, by the way.

  9. These look delicious! And such meticulous tracking of where the cookies went! I agree — a long weekend throws off the whole Tuesday posting thing. Great job — glad everyone liked the cookies.

  10. I love when something comes together so easily without extra trips to the store. Your cookies look wonderful and I can’t wait to see what you think about that book.

  11. Nice looking cookies! I would make them again for sure.

  12. Dude – nice looking cookies! And what a relief to have all the stuff in the pantry/fridge.

    Great job 🙂

    Have a delicious day!!

  13. oh they were so yummy!

  14. Glad you enjoyed the cookies! I ate half a dozen out of the oven because a cookie is only warm and wonderful once!

  15. Oh, how you taunt us with gorgeous cookies and promises of eating and shrinking. Be sure to share all the secrets to endless buttery cookies and skinny jeans.

  16. I went ahead and made a half batch – and to make sure I didn’t eat them all the remainder are going to my son’s soccer game tonight! Great job on your cookies!

  17. KILLER KLOWNS! Love. And I love that your division of the cookies sounds like a math problem- if Mike bakes 60 cookies and gives 10 to his sister, 15 to his coworkers, etc, etc, etc… then how many cookies end up in Mike’s stomach?

  18. Your cookies look perfect! Don’t you love when you have all of the ingredients at home? Great job sharing the TWD ‘love’ with family and friends, I bet everyone really enjoyed them 🙂

  19. Wow these look good. You were smart to get rid of them. Thanks for not posting the calories…I was going to have to hunt you down.
    Hope you like the whoppers next week- I love them!

  20. These look amazing. How did they taste? And p.s. – I have fudge recipe that knocks off people’s socks. Lol. I’m also back into the internet world after the craziest month of my life.

  21. Hey! Me again. Someone shared a blog award with me, and I am passing it on to you. You can jump over to my blog to pick it up. Love your blog!

  22. See, so many of us like your blog, we’re passing on awards. Come see!

  23. Ok, second comment in a row. My husband has advised me to not pass on the award, and has told me it is spam. So no award. But I do love your writing!

  24. Ok…this is the second time I have read this post and I HAVE to say those cookies look really yummy. That is all.

  25. “Eat, Shrink, and Be Merry” is a fantastic cookbook. I’ve made a couple of things from it recently, and my normally picky husband actually enjoyed them! You should check out the “Cooking Light” cookbook too. 🙂

    Love your blog!

  26. […] – Granola Grabbers August 26, 2008 – Chocolate Banded Ice Cream Torte September 2, 2008 – Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Chocolate Chipsters September 9, 2008 – Chocolate Malted Whopper Drops September 16, 2008 – Chocolate Chunkers […]

Leave a Reply

