Arts, Farts, Crafts, Purr-sonal Failure, and Redemption

Arts and Farts and Crafts is a weekly artistic challenge. Every Thursday, a new prompt will be posted here on Ugly Food for an Ugly Dude. Then, you will create some sort of media based on the prompt. Is it a rhyming couplet? A ten-page story? A photograph? A drawing? A recipe? Whatever you’d like. As long as your piece of art is a new creation and it’s vaguely inspired by the week’s prompt, it’s in!

To enter, post your entry on your blog. Then, e-mail me at MSTrox@gmail.com with a link to your entry. I will then make a round-up post sharing your art on my website, as well as the requisite linkage.

This week’s theme?

Pick an animal.  Do a study on that animal using whatever media you so desire.

I have to be honest with you.  I was only feeling up to doing one of the three things required by this challenge, and it certainly wasn’t arting or crafting.  I certainly wasn’t going to write a drawn-out examination of the flying squirrel, as tempting as that may be.  Instead, I retreated to my old college haunt:  poetry.

I failed.

So instead of a direct study of animals, here is my story of how I am terrible at writing about animals.

There was a girl in my poetry course (Amanda who wrote quite a few poems about animals.  She didn’t intend to write everything about animals, she said.  That’s just what came out of her.  Amanda, for the most part, lived and breathed animals.  Many of her poems were told through the eyes of an animal.  I tried that.  It was terrible.  Where her poetry struck a subtle, witty balance between childlike naivete and animalistic intent, my poetry sounded like a commercial for pet food.  “Give me kibbles!/Give me bits!/If I go hungry,/it’s the pits!”  Blech.  So I went in the other direction and wrote poetry about the animals, but I couldn’t really get past the physical aspect of the animals, and everything came out sounding like some twisted, erotic slash-fiction.  “Long legs glistening in the sun/you’re my horse and you like to run”

Was I too hasty in picking this week’s prompt?  Sure, I was enamored with a stray cat at the time (who later came back, was tested for disease, and was adopted by my sister-in-law).  But I eventually grew bored with that whole ordeal, and where did it leave me?  I had to write about animals and I didn’t care about them anymore!

So what then?  Did I muddle through and write a story or poem about how I’m indifferent towards pets?  Did I draw some half-assed picture of a gorilla mixed with a donkey (a “gonkey,” btw) or something?  Of course not!  Like any amateur artist and English major, I gave up.

The sad thing is, my quitting essentially eschewed the whole point of the writing prompt:  to challenge myself artistically and to inspire me to write.  This week I walk away from Arts and Farts and Crafts ashamed.  Next week I promise there will be some gonkeys.

___________________________________________________________

Meanwhile, Jessica returns with a vastly superior (and on-task) entry!  Touche, Jessica!  Touche!

The Cicada:

Read about her hilarious inspiration here!

________________________________________

For next week:  a theme:

Fairy tales.

Write a fairy tale.  Adapt an existing fable.  Illustrate a favorite fairy tale.  Take a picture of something that reminds you of a fairy tale.  Design a cake that looks like a fairy princess, and then eat it with a troll!  I don’t give a hoot!  Just pollute!

Entries can be submitted in any medium. The end-date for submissions is Thursday August 28. Be sure to notify me at MSTrox@gmail.com!

2 Responses to “Arts, Farts, Crafts, Purr-sonal Failure, and Redemption”

  1. Ah man! Where did the week go? I was totally gonna do the animal one on my bunny but I lost track of time! ::sniff. I’ll see what I can do for the fairytale one. I lurve Cinderella. Its my favorite. 🙂
    /Clara

  2. I’m only now realizing I failed to add a body. It’s also full of teeth.

Leave a Reply

