Tuesdays With Dorie – Granola Grabbers


Well, let’s see here.  Today’s recipe was Granola Grabbers.  I followed the recipe to the letter, even making a last-minute run for coconut.

I plopped my cookies out onto the parchment-ed tray, and I stuck my trays in the oven.  Easy.  So easy.  And if the dough was any indication, these cookies were going to be damn good.

I had quite a bit of extra dough, and I began to toy with ideas.  EXPERIMENTATION!  It’s like I’m back in college again.

Experiment #1:  Microwaving.  I formed a ball of dough onto a microwave-safe plate, and I nuked it for thirty seconds.   Mistake.  The center was burnt to a smoking crisp, and the outside was still malformed, soft dough.  I tried to eat the whole thing, but after my first bite of burnt…well, it was trash time.

Experiment #2:  THE MONSTER COOKIE.  I was going to bake the rest of my dough into one big monster cookie.  This was destined for disaster, as I’d have no idea how to adjust temperature or baking time.

This experiment was not to be.  My first batch of cookies came out with burnt bottoms, and I was going to have to use the rest of the dough to make some edible food.  Bummmmmer!

I adjusted the baking time to eight minutes, and the cookies came out just fine.  So I had thirty burnt-ass cookies and ten decent ones.  I guess my plans to offload tons of cookies to girlfriend and work fell short.

If you divided your batch into the recommended number of cookies (40), here are your nutritional stats. PER COOKIE. Boy, this sure makes the eight burnt cookies I ate (had to save the rest of my family from such a grisly fate) that much more depressing.

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 30.0g
Amount Per Serving
Calories

141
Calories from Fat

75
% Daily Value*
Total Fat

8.3g
13%
Saturated Fat

3.4g
17%
Cholesterol

15mg
5%
Sodium

49mg
2%
Total Carbohydrates

14.5g
5%
Dietary Fiber

1.5g
6%
Sugars

7.5g
Protein

2.9g
Vitamin A 3% Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 2% Iron 4%
* Based on a 2000 calorie diet

Nutritional details are an estimate and should only be used as a guide for approximation

31 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie – Granola Grabbers”

  1. I came here first to see what the nutritional facts would be, and, well, gosh. But hey – you took one for the team there when you ate them. And I’m all for experimenting with dough. How about a granola grabber crumble on that swordfish filet?

  2. The things we do to protect our loved ones… =) I definitely wouldn’t have thought of microwaving this dough, and it sounds like that’s a good thing. The top picture looks fantastic, though. =)

  3. burnt bottoms, don’t you hate that? not sure i really want to know the calorie count on these babies, so i took my glasses off when i got to that part of your post. 🙂

  4. You microwaved them???

    Dude!

  5. Your photo is so artistic – love the book-as-prop! That calorie count is just depressing – what did you use for the granola in the calorie counter? I’m hoping that homemade granola would cut the fat and calorie total…
    Nancy
    The Dogs Eat the Crumbs

  6. Seriously, you have to stop with the calorie counts. They’re killing me! I loved these cookies as well. Yum!

  7. I was really rooting for the monster cookie too. Oh well, there will be more left over cookie dough in your future I’m sure.

  8. Those look great! Sorry the first batch got burnt on the bottom.

  9. Great top picture! Sorry about the burning problem:-(

  10. Hello? You are the devil.
    Stop with the caloric content for Christmas sake! 🙂

  11. One of these days, all of this creativity is going to pay off. Hopefully this will happen in time to keep you out of the asylum.

    What do you use to generate your nutrition analysis?

  12. Bummer about the burnt ones, you’ll have to try them again sometime. Never thought to try microwaving them – I guess that’s a good thing considering your results. Kelly is totally right… one of these days you’re going to try something that is going to be genius and you’ll go down in history…

  13. Can I make a suggestion? How about putting nutritional values after a cut so I don’t have to see them!?! LOL. But seriously? 141 calories per cookie? I thought for sure it would be healthier b/c of the granola. That might be me doing some wishful thinking though. Nuts. (Pun intended) Sorry about the burnage but I love your stories so its all good. 🙂
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  14. I love your experiment cookies, that’s awesome. You should hide that nutritional info, though! 🙂

  15. Too funny about microwaving them – did you do it at full power? Maybe half power would have worked better…

  16. Only you would bake cookies in the microwave.
    Too funny. Try doubling your cookie sheets if you have problems with burnt bottoms.
    Glad you liked the ones that turned out, cheers!

  17. Microwave? Only you! Your cookies look great!

  18. Oh, man I’m not sure I wanted to know how bad these seemingly good cookies were for me. I love your smokin lava center cookie experiment.

  19. if you don’t experiment, you will never learn anything, roght? your “normal” cookies look like they were damn good!

  20. I love that you experimented with the recipe. One never knows when something unexpectedly wonderful will happen. Your cookies (unburnt) sound/look wonderful 🙂

  21. Dude – you are learning so much. Even when it doesn’t turn out “as planned”, you gain knowledge… and skilz 😉

    Have a delicious day!!

  22. Hooray for experimentation! I predict you will be the one to come up with a microwavable cookie recipe.

  23. these cookies just can’t be ugly.

  24. Look at you, taking one for the team, eating all of the burnt cookies! But seriously, I laugh when people call these healthy. I’m like, “Hello! There are 14 TABLESPOONS OF BUTTER!”

  25. Yummy! Too bad the nuking didn’t turn out…..would have been a great idea to take to work and have fresh baked cookies.

  26. Oh nooo. Nutritional information?! I would be a lot more interested in the nutritional information if I didn’t have a carefully regimented cookie-eating program going these past few days. And I didn’t even like them that much! All the same, it’s hard to say no to a cookie, even a mediocre one.

  27. EXPERIMENTATION! It’s like I’m back in college again.

    this line hasn’t gotten enough credit.. – bravo, sir, very well played..

  28. I think the cookies in picture look pretty darned good. Sorry about the burnt ones, though.

  29. I’m glad you got some decent cookies out of this experience, because they were darn tasty!

  30. […] my previous disaster run of cookies (the tremendous Granola Grabbers), I was very careful not to burn the Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chipsters, and I still had time to watch […]

  31. […] Black and White Banana Loaf August 12, 2008 – Blueberry Sour Cream Ice Cream August 19, 2008 – Granola Grabbers August 26, 2008 – Chocolate Banded Ice Cream Torte September 2, 2008 – Peanut Butter and […]

Leave a Reply

