Tuesdays with Dorie – New Car Galette

Today I finally got my new car–a 2008 Honda Civic Hybrid.  This means a lot of different things to me.  First, I can give my mom back her pimpin’ Astro Van.  Second, I can feel free to drive where I want when I want.  Third, I can finally put the horrifying, traumatic car wreck behind me.

It also means I have an excuse for why my Summer Fruit Galette was such an epic failure. I was tied up until eight last night, you see.

Oh, it tasted okay, I guess.  It’s the little things, though.

The eight peaches recommended by the recipe are far too much for a crust of this size.  Instead of trying to utilize the proper amount, I decided to stuff the galette full of peaches.  As a result…

My crust collapsed as the galette was baking.  This didn’t seem like it would be too much of a problem, considering the fact that my peaches (oh, I used peaches by the way, and some Peach Strawberry Marmalade) weren’t falling out of the pastry at all.  However, I did not take into account that…

The custard used in the next step would not adhere so kindly to the walls of the galette.  It oozed out all over my baking pan and burnt.  Some custard did remain in the galette, and it kind of coagulated into the stable mix that Dorie mentioned in the cookbook.

Here’s the end result, cleaned up.

Here’s the nutrition information (1/12 of recipe).  Not for the faint of heart.

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 89.8g
Amount Per Serving
Calories

253
Calories from Fat

142
% Daily Value*
Total Fat

15.8g
24%
Saturated Fat

8.8g
44%
Cholesterol

49mg
16%
Sodium

249mg
10%
Total Carbohydrates

26.4g
9%
Dietary Fiber

1.0g
4%
Sugars

13.4g
Protein

2.6g
Vitamin A 11% Vitamin C 4%
Calcium 2% Iron 5%
* Based on a 2000 calorie diet

Nutritional details are an estimate and should only be used as a guide for approximation.

30 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie – New Car Galette”

  1. Civic >>> Astro van. Good work. And I’m betting that the galette was delicious, and that’s what really matters.

  2. Hey, tasting good is the important part! Peach strawberry marmalade sounds really delicious. And congrats on the new car.

  3. I actually had some similar problems with my galette, but I thought it was because I only made a quarter of the recipe. Maybe I was wrong about that.

  4. Congrats on your new car! Your galette looks good! 🙂

  5. Nice ride! And do try the galette again. Play around with the fruit to crust ratio. And stop showing me calorie/fat counts. It’s depressing.;-)

  6. Galettes are supposed to be rustic and messy looking. I bet it tasted great anyway. Congrats on the new ride!

  7. Umm! Looks good! I love peaches.

  8. Congrats on the new car! Your galette looks great ~ I used peaches, too, and couldn’t fit them all in either.

  9. Dude!!!!!!!!! You got new wheels!!!!!!!! Awesome 🙂 🙂 Oh and about the galette… I did peaches too… and felt the “custard” ruined it for me 😦 Oh well, next week on to something else.

    Congrats on the ride!!!

    Have a delicious day 🙂

  10. That is SO not a failure!! We all had to clean up messy pans! great job!

  11. New car!!! Woo hoo!! We have a hybrid and love it! The galette looks great to me! Nice job!

  12. Keep making stuff explode….it makes me feel better about my kitchen catastrophes. Love your page.

  13. I ended up with way too much fruit too. I used apples and purchased 6 to be on the safe side. I chopped up 4 and that ended up being way too much… hardly any fit into the crust. At least it tastes yummy! Now go for a ride in that sweet new car!

  14. Congrats on the new car! Sorry your galette flopped!

  15. You’re not supposed to figure out the nutrition information — that takes all the fun out of it! And congratulations on the new car. I’m lusting after a Prius or a Civic hybrid myself.

  16. Thanks for the compliment on my galette, for me ‘sugar plum’ makes everything sound delish. Congrats on the new car, gotta love a Honda 🙂 Your galette looks great and you have me wishing I had some Peach Strawberry Marmalade, yum! I’m glad you didn’t punch your sister and get grounded again (or did you?)

  17. Nice wheels. Why is it so entertaining when you produce a flop??? It actually looks good, all cleaned up and spiffy!

  18. Sweet looking car! Your galette is really nice. I know you think it was a flop, but I like it!

  19. Congrats on a new car! I bet the galette was good!

  20. First, let me say that reading your blog is better than watching TV. Second, I think the galette looks pretty darn good!

  21. Congratulations on the new car! Your galette still looks really good… but wow… so many calories… so much fat. Damn that custarrd/shortening/and tons of butter!

  22. Nice new ride —love that you went the hybrid route!

    I’m there with ya on the collapsing crust issue. I’ve previously had the same problem with these free form things not holding their shape…I ended up cheating and using a tart pan to keep it all together. Don’t be too hard on yourself…based on the pics, I think your galette turned out terrific!

    Linda
    http://www.tendercrumb.blogspot.com/

  23. That peach strawberry marmalade sounds awesome. Many props for trying and honestly I think you succeeded. Dorie says its rustic right? 😉
    PS. I am an Accord girl myself but I can dig the Civic.
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  24. Your galette looks tasty, and congrats on the new car.. but dude.. really… the nutrition information?! Why do you feel compelled to punish me??

  25. Good luck with the new car! You did a great job with the galette!

  26. Nice new car! And your galette looks good, doesn’t look like a failure to me!

  27. New cars and marmalade and too many peaches, oh and a little burning. It all sounds fantastically good to me.

  28. Congrats on the new car. Your galette looks pretty good to me. I would eat it 🙂 And I love the nutrition info. (Please don’t stop!!)

  29. […] galette this week and it burnt. IT BURNT. How did it burn? I don’t know, it just burnt. My previous galette did the same thing, but in a different oven. Perhaps galettes are just stupid. It couldn’t be […]

  30. […] Pie July 15, 2008– Chocolate Pudding July 22, 2008– Cherry Rhubarb Cobbler July 29, 2008 – Summer Fruit Galette August 5, 2008 – Black and White Banana Loaf August 12, 2008 – Blueberry Sour Cream Ice Cream […]

Leave a Reply

